Champions Trophy 2013 Facts

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, June 5, 2013, 15:09 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Champions Trophy 2013 Facts

London, June 5: Champions Trophy will make its last appearance this year as the ICC has decided to scrap the tournament after the current edition.


Champions Trophy 2013 will get under way with India facing South Africa in Cardiff on Thursday (June 6). The final is scheduled for June 23 at Edgbaston.

Here are few facts about Champions Trophy

# Champions Trophy (formerly ICC Knockout) features top 8 ODI teams as per ICC rankings

# Australia are the current holders after having won the trophy in 2009

# This is the 7th and final edition of the tournament

# England will host Champions Trophy this year from June 6 to 23

# Australia are the only team to have won the title twice (2006 and 2009)

# Other winners are South Africa (1998), New Zealand (2000), joint winners Sri Lanka and India after final was washed out (2002), West Indies (2004)

# England is hosting the event for the second time after 2004

# Cardiff, The Oval and Edgbaston are the tournament venues

# 8 teams are divided into 2 groups. Top 2 will qualify for semi-finals

# Group A: Australia, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka

# Group B: India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies

# Winners will get $2m in prize money

# Runner-up receives $1m

# Total prize money is $4m

# Semi-finalists get $400,000 each

# 3rd placed teams in each group get $100,000

# No prize money for 7th and 8th


Story first published:  Wednesday, June 5, 2013, 11:35 [IST]
Write Comments