CT 13: Ramdin charged for 'claiming' Misbah catch

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, June 8, 2013, 13:33 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ramdin charged for 'claiming' catch

London, June 8: West Indies' wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been charged with a Level 2 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during his side's Group B Champions Trophy match against Pakistan at The Oval on Friday.

Ramdin has been charged for claiming Misbah-ul-Haq's catch behind the stumps off Kemar Roach when he had clearly grassed the ball. West Indies won the match by 2 wickets.

Ramdin is charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game", ICC said on Saturday.

The charge was laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough.

Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to the offence, and a hearing will take place in London on Monday.

The range of penalties for all first Level 2 breaches are the imposition of a fine of between 50-100% of a player's match fee and/or a suspension of up to 2 ODI matches.


Write Comments