India storm into Champions Trophy final

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, June 21, 2013, 12:21 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cardiff, June 20: India thrashed Sri Lanka by 8 wickets to storm into the final of Champions Trophy 2013. India will face England on Sunday (June 23) at Edgbaston.


It was a dominant performance by India here in the second semi-final on Thursday. First, the bowlers swung the game towards them in helpful conditions and then came half centuries from the in-form Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli.

India storm into Champions Trophy final

Chasing 182, India cruised to victory in 35 overs losing two wickets. Dhawan hit 68 while Kohli remained unbeaten on 58. Rohit Sharma made 33.

Left-handed Dhawan is the leading run scorer in the tournament with 332 runs (2 tons and 1 half century) in 4 games. Today, his 68 came off 92 balls with 6 fours and 1 six. His Delhi team-mate Kohli had 4 fours and 1 six in a 64-ball 58 not out.

Once again Dhawan and Rohit gave India a good start by raising 77 runs in 17 overs for the first wicket.

India extended their winning streak in the final edition of Champions Trophy to 4. They had won all three matches in Group stage.

This is the third time India have made it to Champions Trophy final. They had finished runners-up to New Zealand in the year 2000 and then shared the trophy with Sri Lanka in 2002 after rain played spoilsport.

India keep Sri Lanka to 181/8

Indian bowlers were outstanding as they kept Sri Lanka to a below-par 181/8 in 50 overs.

There was a delay of 30 minutes to start the game due to wet outfield but there was no holding back India bowlers in overcast conditions.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav started India's domination with the ball and Ishant Sharma took over later.

Sri Lanka batsmen were never allowed to break free right from the beginning. They progressed at snail's pace and it was due to captain Angelo Mathews' 51 that they came closer to 200.

Mathews and Mahela Jayawardene (38) had a 78-run partnership for the fourth wicket which was instrumental in Sri Lanka's final total.

Both batsmen made successful DRS reviews after being given out LBW. Jayawardene was adjudged LBW off MS Dhoni's bowling while Mathews was given out to Ravindra Jadeja.

It was a good day to bowl and Dhoni also decided to turn his arm over for 4 overs. Dinesh Karthik took over the wicketkeeping duties. Once done with his bowling, Dhoni returned to take his position behind the stumps.

In the first three dismissals, Suresh Raina was involved, taking all three catches at second slip. Sri Lanka had slipped to 41/3 in 18 overs.

Ishant and R Ashwin were the most successful with three wickets apiece. Bhuvneshwar and Jadeja had one scalp each.

Tillarakaratne Dilshan, who had to retire hurt on 12 as an opener, returned to bat at number 9 and ended 18 not out. He sustained a calf injury while batting.

India opt to bowl

India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to field.

The match was delayed by 30 minutes due to wet outfield. The winner of this game will face England in the final on June 23, Sunday.

India retained the same XI while Sri Lanka made two changes, bringing in Thisara Perera and Jeevan Mendis. Perera replaced Shaminda Eranga and Mendis came in for Dinesh Chandimal, who failed a fitness test before start of play.

Earlier update: Toss delayed

The toss has been delayed due to wet outfield.

Overnight and morning rain has left the outfield wet. The pitch is still under covers and there is lot of water on them. The toss was scheduled to take place at 2.30PM IST but that did not happen.

After the inspection of the ground, umpires decided match will start at 11AM local time (3.30PM IST). Toss at 3.10PM IST.

In case of a washout, India will go through to the final since they finished on top of the group. As per ICC's playing conditions, in case of no play, group winners progress.

Also, in the event of a tied game, the match will be decided by Super Over.

England won the first semi-final against South Africa by 7 wickets on Wednesday.

Playing XIs

India: MS Dhoni (captain), R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne.


Story first published:  Thursday, June 20, 2013, 14:41 [IST]
Write Comments