हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

Why did MS Dhoni do this in Cardiff?

Posted by:
Published: Friday, June 21, 2013, 15:10 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cardiff, June 21: Is there anything which MS Dhoni cannot do on a cricket field? Captain, wicketkeeper, batsman and bowler - all boxes ticked. Dhoni is India's latest entrant into the all-rounder club!

On Thursday (June 21) in Cardiff, Dhoni took his pads and big gloves off and made his way to the bowling crease. It was the 24th over of the Champions Trophy semi-final against Sri Lanka. Many were surprised by this move.

Why did MS Dhoni do this in Cardiff?

And with his second ball he had a wicket. He trapped Mahela Jayawardene LBW and the umpire raised his finger. But with the Decision Review System (DRS) in place, the former Sri Lanka skipper was sure he had hit the ball with his bat and immediately reviewed.

The third umpire confirmed that Jayawardene was not out but Dhoni and his men had already celebrated in a big way. But those images stayed but for the record, it was not a second ODI wicket for Dhoni.

Dhoni consistently bowled at 120kph and above for 4 overs, conceding 17 runs. He had taken his maiden wicket in the 50-over game in September 2009 against West Indies. He had bowled Travis Dowlin in that game.

Again it was a Champions Trophy match in Johannesburg. Since then he had not bowled and we saw him rolling his arm over in another Champions Trophy encounter. Unfortunately, there will not be another edition of this ICC global event. This is the final time Champions Trophy will be on view.

Having a specialist stumper in Dinesh Karthik helped Dhoni's bowling ambitions.

When asked about his decision to bowl, Dhoni said: "Bhuvnesh had already bowled 8 or 9, we wanted to keep some of the fast bowlers' overs for the death, so with Karthik around I think might as well give it a go. I thought even if it goes badly, I'll bowl one over. It went okay so I bowled another."

It was for the second time that Dhoni was denied a wicket by DRS. In 2011, he had got Kevin Pietersen in a Test match but only to be overturned by DRS.

ThatsCricket

Write Comments