CT 13: BCCI to give Rs 1 crore each for players

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, June 24, 2013, 17:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

BCCI to give Rs 1 crore each for players

Bangalore, June 24: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Rs 1 crore each to the members of the victorious Indian Champions Trophy 2013 side.

India defeated England to win the trophy at Edgbaston on Sunday (June 23). India's 15-member squad has been rewarded by the cricket board on Monday. The support staff will each receive Rs 30 lakhs, the BCCI said.

"India won the ICC Champions Trophy 2013, beating England in a thrilling final at Edgbaston, Birmingham, on 23 June 2013.

The BCCI has announced a cash prize of (Rs) 1 crore to every playing member of the team, and (Rs) 30 Lakhs to every member of the support staff," Sanjay Patel, BCCI secretary, said in a media statement on Monday.

For winning the Champions Trophy, Team India received $2 million (approximately Rs 12 crore).

Four players in the squad did not feature in any of the matches as India retained same Playing XI for all 5 games. Irfan Pathan, R Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra and Murali Vijay are the four who did not get a game.

India squad: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Irfan Pathan, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, R Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav.


Story first published:  Monday, June 24, 2013, 14:34 [IST]
Write Comments