Virat Kohli, India's 22nd ODI captain

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, July 2, 2013, 15:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Virat Kohli, India's 22nd ODI captain

Kingston (Jamaica), July 2: Virat Kohli will become India's 22nd ODI captain when he leads the team against Sri Lanka in Celkon Mobile Cup tri-series here tonight.

MS Dhoni was ruled out of the tournament due to a hamstring injury and the selectors picked Kohli as the skipper. Kohli has previously been Dhoni's deputy but has never captained India before (in a full game). Though he filled in for Dhoni in the last game against West Indies after Dhoni's injury.

The right-handed batsman has however got the experience of captaincy - at the Under-19 level and also Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League.

Kohli led India to Under-19 World Cup glory in 2008.

The 24-year-old will be hoping for a winning captaincy debut today.

Here is the list of India's ODI captains with the number of matches in-charge

1. Ajit Wadekar (2 matches)

2. S Venkataraghavan (7)

3. Bishan Singh Bedi (4)

4. Sunil Gavaskar (37)

5. GR Viswanath (1)

6. Kapil Dev (74)

7. Syed Kirmani (1)

8. Mohinder Amarnath (1)

9. Ravi Shastri (11)

10. Dilip Vengsarkar (18)

11. Kris Srikkanth (13)

12. Mohammad Azharuddin (174)

13. Sachin Tendulkar (73)

14. Ajay Jadeja (13)

15. Sourav Ganguly (146)

16. Rahul Dravid (79)

17. Anil Kumble (1)

18. Virender Sehwag (12)

19. MS Dhoni (141)

20. Suresh Raina (9)

21. Gautam Gambhir (6)


Story first published:  Tuesday, July 2, 2013, 12:07 [IST]
Write Comments