SA rest Steyn for SL tour, Morkel returns

Posted by:
Published: Friday, July 5, 2013, 12:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

SA rest Dale Steyn for SL tour

Johannesburg, July 5: South Africa have rested paceman Dale Steyn for this month's tour of Sri Lanka where they play 5 One Day Internationals and 3 Twenty20 Internationals. Morne Morkel has returned to the squad after recovering from his injury.

Steyn had played only one of the four matches in Champions Trophy due to a side strain. And the selectors have rested him keeping in mind the workload ahead.

"We are resting Dale Steyn as we have a very important and crowded Test season ahead of us and we want to be absolutely certain that, as the leader of our attack, he is properly rested and fit. Graeme Smith obviously could not be considered because of his long-term recovery process following surgery," Cricket South Africa's (CSA) selection convenor Andrew Hudson said.

This will be the first tour for South Africa under new coach Russell Domingo, who took charge from Gary Kirsten.

Morkel, who was ruled out of Champions Trophy midway through the first match against India due to a quad strain, will lead the pace attack in Steyn's absence.

In the T20 squad, David Wiese is the lone uncapped player. Imran Tahir and Wayne Parnell returned to T20 team, led by Faf du Plessis.

The first ODI will be played in Colombo on July 20. T20s begin on August 2.

South Africa Squads

ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, David Wiese.


Write Comments