India Under-19 clinch tri-series trophy

Posted by:
Published: Friday, July 12, 2013, 12:41 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Darwin, July 12: Unbeaten India thrashed hosts Australia by 8 wickets to win the Under-19 International Series title here at Marrara Oval today.

India never looked troubled in their run chase today and reached Australia's total of 75 in only the 16th over to finish the Series unbeaten.

India Under-19 clinch tri-series trophy

Abhimanyu Lamba (2/28), Chama Milind (2/19), Deepak Hooda (3/22) and Kuldeep Yadav (2/4) were superb for India as they bundled out Australia for 75 in 24.4 overs.

In reply, India coasted to victory in 15.3 overs. Ankus Bains made 40 not out while Sanju Samson was unbeaten on 20.

Indian captain Vijay Zol won Player of the Series after a dominant tournament with the bat.

Australian fast bowler Matt Fotia was the only player to snare a five-for during the tournament and finished top of the bowling table with 10 scalps at an average of 17.20. Fellow teammate Cam Valente was also impressive over the Series and finished second on the bowling table with nine wickets at 15.89.

Sixteen-year-old Jake Doran was the best of the Aussie bats throughout the tournament with a spectacular average of 195 and an aggregate of 195 runs (second behind Zol's 284 runs).

The U19 International Series is part of Cricket Australia's (CA) Under 19 high-performance program and has a decorated history of producing the next generation of Australian players including Michael Clarke, James Pattinson and Agar.

Brief Scores

Australia U-19 75 all out in 24.4 overs lost to India U-19 76/2 in 5.3 overs


Write Comments