Team India to leave for Zimbabwe on Sunday

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, July 18, 2013, 14:59 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Team India leaves for Zimbabwe on Jul 21

Mumbai, July 18: Team India will leave for Zimbabwe on Sunday (July 21). Virat Kohli-led side will play five One Day Internationals against Zimbabwe from July 24.

MS Dhoni has been rested from this assignment after he had sustained a hamstring injury in the Celkon Mobile Cup tri-series in the Caribbean last week. However, after missing three games, Dhoni played in the final and took the team to victory in a thrilling finish.

This will be Kohli's first full tour as India skipper. He had captained the side in Dhoni's absence in 3 games in the Caribbean.

India have been in top form since last month. They won the Champions Trophy in June and also the tri-series title. A few days back the team returned home with twin trophies.

Zimbabwe trip is a big one for Jammu and Kashmir offspinner Parvez Rasool. He is the first player from J and K to be included in the national side. With R Ashwin also getting a break from this tour, Rasool is likely to make his ODI debut.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Jaydev Unadkat, Ambati Rayudu and Mohit Sharma are the other players in the 15-man squad who are yet to play ODIs.

The first three matches of the series are in Harare and the final two in Bulawayo. The tour ends on August 3.

India squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.

The Schedule

24 July: 1st ODI: Harare Sports Club, Harare

26 July: 2nd ODI: Harare Sports Club, Harare

28 July: 3rd ODI: Harare Sports Club, Harare

31 July: 4th ODI: Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo

03 August: 5th ODI: Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo


Story first published:  Thursday, July 18, 2013, 14:07 [IST]
Write Comments