CLT20 2013: Mumbai face Rajasthan in opener

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, July 23, 2013, 17:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, July 23: IPL 6 winners Mumbai Indians will face Rajasthan Royals in the opening match of the Champions League Twenty20 2013 (CLT20) in Jaipur on September 21. India is hosting the tournament for the third time in five years.

Full Schedule

The qualifying phase begins on September 17 while the final is scheduled for October 6 at Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla. The first semi-final will be held in Jaipur on October 4 while the second semis is in Delhi on October 5, the organisers announced on Tuesday.

CLT20 2013: Mumbai face RR in opener

The teams will compete for a total prize money of $6 million. A total of 29 matches will be played.

Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals are in Group A while IPL 6 finalists Chennai Super Kings are in Group B. In all, 10 teams will be participating in the main stage.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) will feature in the qualifying round. SRH will play against a Sri Lankan team (yet to be confirmed) on September 17. The qualifiers end on September 20.

New Zealand's Otago Volts, Faisalabad Wolves (Pakistan) and a team from Sri Lanka are the other three in qualifying.

Hyderabad, Jaipur, Ranchi, Delhi and Ahmedabad are the five venues.

The top three IPL teams had got direct entry to CLT20. RR had finished third. CLT20 will be RR captain Rahul Dravid's last tournament in competitive cricket.


Group A: Mumbai Indians (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Rajasthan Royals (India), Qualifier.

Group B: Chennai Super Kings (India), Titans (South Africa), Brisbane Heat (Australia), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies), Qualifier.


Q1 - Otago Volts (New Zealand)

Q2 - Sunrisers Hyderabad (India)

Q3 - SLC1 (Sri Lanka)

Q4 - Faisalabad Wolves (Pakistan)

Note: Q1/Q3 will enter Group A, if either of them makes it to the Group Stage. Q2 / Q4 will enter Group B, if either of them makes it to the next round. If Q1 and Q3 both make it to the Group Stage, then Q1 will enter Group A, and Q3 will enter Group B. If Q2 and Q4 both make it to the Group Stage, then Q2 will enter Group B, and Q4 will enter Group A.

Previous Champions

2009 - NSW Blues (Australia)

2010 - Chennai Super Kings (India)

2011 - Mumbai Indians (India)

2012 - Sydney Sixers (Australia)


Story first published:  Tuesday, July 23, 2013, 14:26 [IST]
Write Comments