Harare, July 26: There was controversy early into the India-Zimbabwe second One Day International on Friday when captain Virat Kohli was given out by the third umpire after checking TV replays for a clean catch.
On the second ball of the 7th over, Kohli (14) hit Kyle Jarvis' delivery to mid-on where Malcolm Waller dived ahead and took the catch. However, Kohli stood his ground and Australian umpire Bruce Oxenford asked the third umpire Russell Tiffin of Zimbabwe to check the TV replays.
Though the replays were inconclusive (first one appeared to indicate the ball bounced), to Kohli's shock, the "out" decision was relayed to the on-field umpire. Still, Kohli did not want to walk off the ground.
The Indian skipper had few words with Oxenford and the Australian spoke to the third umpire again and Kohli was sent back.
As he trudged off the ground, Kohli was clearly furious and was seen spitting.
Though the third umpire might be at fault, Kohli had to respect the Zimbabwean's decision. As a captain, Kohli needs to lead by example.
And for today's game, England's Chris Broad is the match referee.
Many would be wondering what has Broad got to say to Kohli at the end of the game. Remember, his son Stuart Broad refused to walk even after edging a ball to slip during the Ashes Test and that turned into a huge controversy.