World Cup 2015: India, Pakistan in same group

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, July 30, 2013, 15:42 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Melbourne, July 30: India and Pakistan are grouped together in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 which will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29, 2015.

Full Schedule; World Cup Statistics; Photos from the launch event; 10 facts about WC 2015

The groups, venues and fixtures were announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) here on Tuesday.

A total of 49 matches will be played in the 44-day tournament across 14 venues in the two countries. Australia will stage 26 matches in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney, while the 23 matches in New Zealand will be held in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington.

World Cup 2015: India, Pak in same group

Christchurch will host the opening match of the World Cup. New Zealand and Sri Lanka will play the opener on February 14, 2015.

Current champions India and 1992 winners Pakistan are in Pool B along with South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and a Qualifier. India hold an unbeaten record against Pakistan in World Cup.

India will launch their title defence against arch rivals Pakistan in Adelaide on February 15. The iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the final on March 29, 2015. In 1992 too, MCG was the venue of World Cup final. In that edition, Pakistan had won, defeating England.

The four quarter-finals will be played from March 18 and two semi-finals on March 24 and 26.

Hosts Australia and New Zealand are in Pool A. England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and two more qualifiers will make up the group.

Each country plays the other in the group stages with the top four from each pool progressing to the quarter-finals.

The World Cup 2015 launched simultaneously in Melbourne and Wellington with Australian and New Zealand Prime Ministers attending the events along with former cricketers Kapil Dev, Stephen Fleming, Ian Chappell, Waqar Younis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Dennis Lillee and others.

India are the defending champions. MS Dhoni-led side won the 2011 World Cup by beating Sri Lanka in Mumbai on April 2, 2011.

Looking ahead to the tournament, Dhoni said: "It only seems like yesterday that we won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in front of a passionate and supportive home crowd.

"World Cup is a very special event for every cricketer because it only takes place every four years. Having tasted success in Mumbai in 2011, we'll be working very hard to retain it.

"I'm keenly looking forward to the tournament and confident that we'll do well. Our recent victory in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 has provided the team with a lot of confidence, and I am sure this experience will help us in our preparations for the World Cup in 2015."

Groups (based on ICC ODI Rankings as on December 31, 2012)

Pool A: England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Qualifier 2 and Qualifier 3

Pool B: South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and Qualifier 4

India's Matches (all day/night)

February 15 - Vs Pakistan in Adelaide

February 22 - Vs South Africa in Melbourne

February 28 - Vs Qualifier in Perth

March 6 - Vs West Indies in Perth

March 10 - Vs Ireland in Hamilton

March 14 - Vs Zimbabwe in Auckland

Previous World Cup Champions

2011 - India (hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh)

2007 - Australia (West Indies)

2003 - Australia (South Africa)

1999 - Australia (England)

1996 - Sri Lanka (India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka)

1992 - Pakistan (Australia and New Zealand)

1987 - Australia (India and Pakistan)

1983 - India (England)

1979 - West Indies (England)

1975 - West Indies (England)


Story first published:  Tuesday, July 30, 2013, 6:05 [IST]
Write Comments