Pujara and Co set for South African test

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, August 7, 2013, 13:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Aug 7: With Team India set to tour South Africa later this year, several players have a chance to acclimatise to the conditions when Cheteshwar Pujara-led India 'A' team begins tour tomorrow in a One-Day tri-series and two four-day matches to follow.

India 'A' will first be involved in a tri-series against hosts South Africa 'A' and Australia 'A'. They start the tournament on August 8 with a game against Australia 'A' in Pretoria. The format sees each team playing against the other twice before the final on August 14.

Pujara and Co set for South African test

The two four-day exchanges against South Africa 'A' start from August 17 and August 24 respectively.

The 'A' squad includes several players who have already played for the senior team. Also, there is Jammu and Kashmir offspinner Parvez Rasool, who did not get a game in Zimbabwe ODI series.

Karnataka all-rounder Stuart Binny is also in the 16-man squad in his first India 'A' tour.

India 'A' squad to South Africa: Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shami Ahmed, Stuart Binny, Ishwar Pandey, Jaydev Unadkat, Siddarth Kaul.

South Africa 'A' squad: Justin Ontong (captain), Kyle Abbott, Temba Bavuma, Dean Elgar, Ayabulela Gqamane, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Richard Levi, Rilee Rossouw, Yaseen Vallie, Roelof van der Merwe, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Dane Vilas, Hardus Viljoen, Rusty Theron.

Australia 'A' squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Alex Doolan (vice-captain), Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Fawad Ahmed, Josh Hazelwood, Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Gurinder Sandhu, Chadd Sayers.

India 'A' tour to South Africa schedule

Thu 08 August: 1st ODI vs Australia ‘A'

Fri 09 August: 2nd ODI vs South Africa ‘A'

Sun 11 August: 3rd ODI vs Australia ‘A'

Mon 12 August: 4th ODI vs South Africa ‘A'

Wed 14 August: Tri-series Final

Aug 17 (Sat) to 20 (Tue) 1st 4-Day Game

Aug 24 (Sat) to 27 (Tue) 2nd 4-Day Game


Write Comments