KSCA Secretary's XI in final after chasing record 567

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, August 8, 2013, 13:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Secretary's XI win chasing record 567

Bangalore, Aug 8: Centuries from Mayank Agarwal, Arjun Hoysala and Karun Nair helped KSCA Secretary's XI pull off a sensational chase of 567 runs, a record, in the semi-finals against KSCA XI in the Safi Darashah Trophy 2013.

On Wednesday (August 7), the final day of the four-day game at the Alur ground near Bangalore, Secretary's XI resumed from 230 for no loss. Still they were 337 runs off the target but they believed in themselves to win by six wickets in 113.4 overs. The result left the opposition players stunned.

This chase of over 550 runs in the fourth innings ranks as a record in Karnataka's local cricket.

Mayank Agarwal (195, 245 balls, 27x4, 5x6) and Karun Nair (104, 120 balls, 16x4) put on 237 runs for the first wicket. Arjun Hoysala (134 not out, 188b, 14x4,1x6) and Anirudha Joshi (27 not out) added 85 for the unfinished fifth wicket and took the team home.

In the other last-four encounter, KSCA President's XI defeated Haryana Cricket Association by 169 runs.

It will be all KSCA affair in the final, to be held from August 10.

Brief scores

KSCA Presidents' XI 581/3 in 120 overs 335 all out in 56.3 overs (Samarth Ravikumar 137, Kunal Kapoor 75, Sunil Rahu 44, Jayant Yadav 5/91) beat Haryana CA XI 514 all out in 119.2 overs and 233 all out in 45 overs (Abhimanyu Khod 54, Sachin Rana 77, Pavan Deshpande 5/86, Arjun Shetty 3/84) by 169 runs.

KSCA XI 341 all out in 86.2 overs and 430/5 in 93 overs lost to KSCA Secretary's XI 205 all out in 56.4 overs and 591/4 (including 24 penalty runs) in 113.4 overs (Mayank Agarwal 195, Karun Nair 104, Mir Kaunian Abbas 27, Arjun Hoysala 134 not out) by 6 wickets.


Write Comments