Maxwell shines as Australia A beat India A to reach final

Posted by:
Published: Monday, August 12, 2013, 12:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pretoria, Aug 12: Glenn Maxwell once again proved to be India A's nemesis as he hit a 56-ball 93 to pilot Australia A to a 25-run victory in the tri-series here on Sunday (August 11). With this win, Australia A qualified for the final on August 14.

Right-handed all-rounder Maxwell, who had blasted 145 not out off just 79 balls in the previous meeting between the sides at the same venue, again punished India bowlers. In the last match, India had fallen short by 7 runs, chasing 299.

Australia A beat India A to reach final

Maxwell (93, 56 balls, 12x4, 3x6) and opener Shaun Marsh (96, 107 balls, 9x4, 3x6) powered Australia to 310/7 in 50 overs. They had a partnership of 139 runs in just 16.1 overs for the third wicket.

Stuart Binny took four wickets for India. He dismissed both Marsh and Maxwell to deny them centuries and also ensured that Australia did not post a score in excess of 350. Binny bowled Marsh in the 39th over and added Maxwell's scalp in his next over (41st). When Marsh fell, Australia were 233/3 in 38.2 overs. Maxwell departed at 238/4 in 40.3 overs.

In reply, India were bowled out for 285 in 48.3 overs. Rohit Sharma (61, 57 balls, 7x4, 2x6) continued his fine form for his third half century in a row while Murali Vijay (60, 77 balls, 7x4, 1x6) and captain Cheteshwar Pujara (51, 64 balls, 4x4) too crossed the 50-run marks but that was not enough to take them home.

From 175/3 in 32 overs, India faltered. Suresh Raina (6) and Dinesh Karthik's (6) failures did not help India's cause. Josh Hazlewood and Moises Henriques starred with the ball for Australia with three wickets apiece.

Now, India A have to beat South Africa A in their final league game today (August 12) to make the final.

Brief Scores

Australia A 310/7 in 50 overs (Shaun Marsh 96, Glenn Maxwell 93, Mitchell Marsh 34, Aaron Finch 27, Stuart Binny 4/55) beat India A 285 all out in 48.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 61, Murali Vijay 60, Cheteshwar Pujara 51, Josh Hazlewood 3/59, Moises Henriques 3/24)


Write Comments