KSCA President's XI win Safi Darashah Trophy

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, August 14, 2013, 12:45 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Aug 14: R Samarth scored his second century of the match as KSCA President's XI won the Safi Darashah Trophy 2013 on Tuesday (August 13).

The four-day final ended in a draw at the Alur ground. KSCA President's XI were declared winners on the 33-run first innings lead over KSCA Secretary's XI.

KSCA President's XI win title

President's XI were chasing 289 for victory on the final day. They ended up with 190/3 in 61 overs. Samarth scored 106 not out. The opener had hit 121 in the first innings.

Samarth was superb in the tournament scoring centuries in semi-finals and final. He tallied 850 runs in 5 matches and won the "Best Batsman" award. Former India captain Rahul Dravid, who witnessed the final towards the end, presented the award to Samarth.

J Suchith, also of President's XI, won the "Best Bowler" award for his 24 wickets in 5 matches. Former India captain and KSCA President Anil Kumble gave him the award.

Brief scores

KSCA Secretary's XI (1st innings) 322 all out and 321 for 8 in 82 overs drew with KSCA President's XI (1st innings) 355 all out in 118.5 overs and 190 for 3 in 61 overs (R Samarth 106 not out, Liyan Khan 39, Shishir Bhavane 38) by 7 wickets.


Story first published:  Wednesday, August 14, 2013, 12:35 [IST]
Write Comments