Ajay Jadeja makes a winning comeback

Published: Saturday, August 17, 2013, 11:39 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ajay Jadeja makes a winning comeback

Chennai, Aug 17: Former India player and Haryana captain Ajay Jadeja made a fine comeback to domestic cricket after six years as he led his side to a 62-run win over Hyderabad at the All-India Buchi Babu tournament on Friday (August 16).

Playing against Hyderabad at the Vivekananda College grounds, Jadeja made a valuable 37 and added 75 runs for the fourth wicket with opener Sunny Singh.

Jadeja, who is 42 years old, rotated the strike well in his knock that included just two boundaries. Jadeja was caught by captain Akshath Reddy at cover point region of Anwar Khan's bowling.

Haryana mustered 215 for 6 in 38 overs in a rain-curtailed encounter after being put into bat. Sunny was the top-scorer with 82 (77b, 7x4, 1x6), and opener Nitin Sainy chipped in with 36.

Hyderabad medium pacers CV Milind (2 for 42) and Anwar Khan (2 for 45) picked two wickets apiece. In reply, Hyderabad were dismissed for 153 in 37.3 overs. Hanuman Vihari (45) and Amol Shinde (32) batted well for the team.

Haryana bowlers Ashish Hooda (3 for 12), Sanjay Budhwar (2 for 47), Kuldeep Hooda (2 for 34) and Rahul Tewaia (2 for 20) were among the wickets.

In other matches, defending champions Karnataka beat Bengal in Group A, Kerala got past Baroda in Group C, TNCA President's XI disposed off Assam and TNCA XI defeated Uttar Padesh.

Brief Scores

Group A: Bengal 171/8 in 43 overs (Anustup Majumdar 58, Srivats Goswami 42 not out, Abhimanyu Mithin 3/9, K P Appanna 2/46) lost to Karnataka 173 for 1 in 37.5 overs, Abhishek Reddy 45, Ganesh Satish 58 not out, Manish Pandey 54 not out);

Group C: Haryana 215/6 in 38 overs (Sunny Singh 82, Nitin Sainy 36, Ajay Jadeja 37, Milind 2/42, Anwar Khan 2/45) bt Hyderabad 153 all out in 37.3 (Hanuman Vihari 45, Amol Shinde 32, Ashish Hooda 3/12, Kuldeep Hooda 2/34, Sanjay Budhwar 2/47, Rahul Tewatia 2/20);

Group-D: Assam 138 all out in 42.5 overs (J.Syed Mohammed 49, Tarjinder Siingh 23, Sunil Sam 6/43, R.Aushik Sriinivas 3/27) lost to TNCA President XI 139 for 5 in 42 overs (Indrajit Baba 40 not out, K B Arun Karthik 24, Arup Das 2/35)

Kerala 235/6 in 50 overs (Robert Fernandez 120, Vinoop Manoharan 38 not out, Vishnu Vinod 39, Lukman Meriwala 2/46, Aditya Vasava 2/45) bt Baroda 224 all out in 48.5 overs (Viraj Bhosale 102, Anupam Gupta 52, Nikunj Mohite 25 not out, LP Shahid 5/77, P Prasanth 3/65 and Prasanth Parameshwaran 2/26).


Write Comments