Challenger Trophy: Yuvraj and Irfan named captains

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 15:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Challenger Trophy: Yuvraj to lead

Mumbai, Sep 10: Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan will captain India Blue and India Red teams respectively at the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy in Indore from September 26.

The senior selection committee on Tuesday announced both squads. Delhi are the third team in the competition. From this year, the domestic one day champions (Vijay Hazare Trophy) will be part of the Challenger Trophy instead of India Green team which used to be the third outfit. Delhi are the current winners. They beat Assam by 75 runs in this year's final in March in Visakhapatnam.

Indore will host the matches from September 26 to 29. Paceman Umesh Yadav and Irfan's brother Yusuf are also in India Red.

Bhuvneswar Kumar and R Vinay Kumar are in India Blue.


India Red: Irfan Pathan (captain), Robin Uthappa, Abhinav Mukund, Sourabh Tiwary (replaced by Ishank Jaggi), Gurkirat Mann, Kedar Jadhav, Smit Patel (wicketkeeper), Yusuf Pathan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abhimanyu Mithun, Umesh Yadav, Suraj Yadav.

Note: "Ishank Jaggi will replace Sourabh Tiwary in the India Red squad. Tiwary is recovering from a shoulder operation," said BCCI on September 11, a day after selection.

India Blue: Yuvraj Singh (captain), Akshath Reddy, Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Mandeep Singh, Ankit Bawane, Abhishek Nayar, Manish Pandey, Piyush Chawla, Ankit Rajpoot, R Vinay Kumar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Iresh Saxena.

Challenger Trophy Schedule (All matches in Indore)

September 26 - Delhi Vs India Blue

September 27 - India Blue Vs India Red

September 28 - Delhi Vs India Red

September 29 - Final


Story first published:  Tuesday, September 10, 2013, 16:54 [IST]
Write Comments