Smith returns to Test, ODI squads; Kallis ignored for 50-over format

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, September 10, 2013, 15:01 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg, Sep 10: Graeme Smith, on Tuesday, returned to South Africa's Test and One Day International squads for the series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Tour Schedule

Smith will lead the Test squad and is also part of the ODI outfit, to be captained by AB de Villiers. However, veteran all-rounder Jacques Kallis has been ignored for ODI selection. Kallis, who had opted out of Champions Trophy and ODI series in Sri Lanka, had expressed his desire to play in 2015 World Cup. But his ODI hopes seem to be fading with the latest omission.

Smith returns to Test, ODI squads

Left-handed Smith has been out of action from May due to an ankle injury. He is still not 100 per cent fit but is confident of being ready when the tour starts on October 14.

South Africa will play two Tests, five ODIs and two Twenty20 Internationals in the UAE in October and November.

"We should have a definite picture on the status of Graeme's recovery from surgery within the next two weeks," commented Cricket South Africa (CSA) Selection Convener Andrew Hudson on Tuesday.

"We will obviously be monitoring Graeme's condition very carefully and do not want to overload him too much during the early stages of his return."

Dale Steyn also returned to the ODI squad after making a full recovery from his injury and Imran Tahir, Wayne Parnell and Vernon Philander have all been recalled.

"Both Imran and Wayne had good tours to Sri Lanka in the T20 series while we want to give Vernon the chance to show us what he can do. He and Wayne are both good lower-order all-rounders and have the ability to contribute significantly in the batting department as well.

"We have retained the 15-man Test squad that has served us so well over the past couple of years. They have impressed not just with the results but with the depth in the squad and a notable feature has been the manner in which players have put up their hands when we have had the inevitable injuries," Hudson added.

The T20 squad will only be finalised after the Champions League T20 in India, CSA said.

South Africa Test squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile.

SA ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.


Write Comments