Hashim Amla named South Africa cricketer of the year

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, September 10, 2013, 15:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg, Sep 10: Hashim Amla won the "South Africa Cricketer of the Year" and "Test Cricketer of the Year" awards during the country's annual awards function here on Monday night (September 9).

Amla was the star of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) 2013 awards night as he won four honours. Besides the top two, he also won awards for scoring a triple hundred in Tests and "SA Fans' Player of the Year".

SA's Hashim Amla wins four awards

Amla became the third South African to be named South Africa's Cricketer of the Year on two occasions.

The right-hander had previously won the award in 2010 and joined two other dual winners in Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006) and Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011). The other previous winners of the award are Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009) and Vernon Philander (2012), CSA said.

Award Winners

SA Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla

Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla

ODI Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers

T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn

SA Players' Player of the Year: AB de Villiers

SA Fans' Player of the Year: Hashim Amla

‘So Good' Award: Hashim Amla (treble Test century)

Delivery of the Year: Jacques Kallis (dismissed Ricky Ponting on day 1 of second Test match against Australia at Adelaide)

SA Newcomer of the Year: Kyle Abbott

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp


Read more about: cricket, hashim amla, south africa, csa
Write Comments