Sehwag, Yuvraj, Zaheer and Gambhir in India A squads

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 11:04 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sehwag, Yuvraj, Zaheer in India A teams

Mumbai, Sep 10: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan were handed lifelines to revive their international careers by the national selectors as they were on Tuesday picked in India A squads for series against West Indies A at home.

Yuvraj was named the captain of India A for three One Dayers and a Twenty20 against West Indies A. Sehwag, Gambhir and Zaheer will be part of the team in two four-day games.

Yuvraj, who recently returned from training in France, will lead the side which also has Pathan brothers Yusuf and Irfan. Right-arm paceman Praveen Kumar is also in the squad.

Cheteshwar Pujara will captain the side in four-day matches. Mohammed Kaif too is in the squad.

All matches will be held in Karnataka. The three One Dayers will be played in Bangalore while Shimoga will host the lone T20 and also a four-day game (second). The first four-day match is in Mysore while the final one is in Hubli.

India A One-day and T20 squad: Yuvraj Singh (captain), Unmukt Chand, Robin Uthappa, Baba Aparajith, Kedar Jadhav, Naman Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Sumit Narwal, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mandeep Singh, Rahul Sharma.

India A squad for first four-day match: Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Jiwanjot Singh, KL Rahul, Manprit Juneja, Rajat Paliwal, Harshad Khadiwale, Parvez Rasool, Bhargav Bhatt, Ishwar Pandey, Shami Ahmed, Ashok Dinda, Rohit Motwani (wicketkeeper), Dhawal Kulkarni, Paras Dogra.

India A squad for second and third four-day games: Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sheldon Jackson, Abhishek Nayar, Paras Dogra, Uday Kaul (wicketkeeper), Parvez Rasool, Bhargav Bhatt, Dhawal Kulkarni, Zaheer Khan, Ishwar Chand Pandey, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Kaif.

India A Vs West Indies A Schedule

September 15 - 1st One Day, Bangalore

September 17 - 2nd One Day, Bangalore

September 19 - 3rd One Day, Bangalore

September 21 - T20, Bangalore

September 25 to 28 - 1st four-day game, Mysore

October 2 to 5 - 2nd four-day game, Shimoga

October 9 to 12 - 3rd four-day game, Hubli


Story first published:  Tuesday, September 10, 2013, 16:07 [IST]
Write Comments