Champions League 2013 Team Guide: Chennai Super Kings

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 13:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Sep 11: Chennai Super Kings will enter the Champions League Twenty20 2013 as one of the favourites. The MS Dhoni-led side won the title in 2010 and are in good shape to grab the honours again.

Tournament Schedule; Squads; Team Guide of Mumbai Indians

The most consistent outfit in Indian Premier League (IPL), CSK have the wherewithal to take the crown this year. CLT20 runs from September 17 to October 6.

CLT20 Team Guide: Chennai Super Kings

The biggest weapon in CSK's armoury is skipper Dhoni. Having enjoyed a good break from international duty, the wicketkeeper-batsman will be raring to go when the tournament kicks off for his side in his hometown Ranchi. Dhoni is the record holder for most matches as captain in CLT20.

Playing in front of his home fans is an added motivation for Dhoni. Apart from the inspirational leader in Dhoni, CSK can bank on Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja and the new find - Mohit Sharma.

The presence of veteran Michael Hussey at the top of the order is a huge bonus for CSK. The left-hander seems to be getting better with age.

Despite the off-field controversies in IPL 6, CSK reached the final but surrendered to Mumbai Indians.

With a fresh start now, CSK will be wanting to scale the CLT20 summit.

CSK's CLT20 Records

Played 14, Won 8, Lost 6

Most runs: Murali Vijay 414 (14 innings)

Most wickets: R Ashwin 21 wickets (14 innings)

Most sixes: Suresh Raina 17 (14 innings)

Hundreds: 0

Performance History

2009 - Did not qualify

2010 - Champions

2011 - Group Stage

2012 - Group Stage

Players to watch out for: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Michael Hussey, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma.

Chennai Super Kings Squad

MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, S Badrinath, Imtiyaz Ahmed, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma, Michael Hussey, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Jason Holder, Francois Du Plessis, Chris Morris.

Groups (CSK in Pool B)

Group A: Mumbai Indians (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Rajasthan Royals (India), Qualifier.

Group B: Chennai Super Kings (India), Titans (South Africa), Brisbane Heat (Australia), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies), Qualifier.

CSK's Fixtures

September 22 (JSCA International Cricket Stadium, Ranchi)

Chennai Super Kings Vs Titans (8PM IST)

September 26 (Ranchi)

Chennai Super Kings Vs Qualifier (8PM IST)

September 28 (Ranchi)

Chennai Super Kings Vs Brisbane Heat (8PM IST)

October 2 (Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi)

Chennai Super Kings Vs Trinidad and Tobago (8PM IST)

Previous Champions

2009 - NSW Blues (Australia)

2010 - Chennai Super Kings (India)

2011 - Mumbai Indians (India)

2012 - Sydney Sixers (Australia)


Story first published:  Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 12:46 [IST]
Write Comments