Champions League 2013 Team Guide: Rajasthan Royals

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 15:11 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Sep 11: Rajasthan Royals team was mired in controversy during IPL 2013 as three of their players were arrested for alleged spot-fixing during the league. Despite those tough times, RR managed to make the semi-finals and also ensured that they were in Champions League T20 for the first time.

Tournament Schedule; Squads; CSK Team Guide; MI Team Guide

S Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila and Ankeet Chavan let the RR team down by their alleged links with bookies. RR captain Rahul Dravid was shocked to hear about his players' names in spot-fixing.

CLT20 2013 Team Guide: Rajasthan Royals

All three were arrested by Delhi police in Mumbai on May 16, 2013. The trio was suspended by the franchise and also BCCI. Now, they are out on bail.

Putting behind those shameful off-field incidents, RR, led by Dravid, will hope to do well in their maiden CLT20 appearance. It is also Dravid's last competitive tournament.

With all their league matches to be played at home - Jaipur's Sawai Man Singh Stadium, RR have a great chance to go all the way.

Jaipur stadium has been their fortress since 2008 in the Indian Premier League (IPL). They will aim to maintain their record in CLT20 too. For that to happen, Dravid, Shane Watson, Brad Hodge and others need to be in top form.

RR's CLT20 Record

First time in Champions League

Performance History

2009 to 2012 - Did not qualify

Players to watch out for: Shane Watson, Rahul Dravid, Ajinkya Rahane, James Faulkner, Brad Hodge.

Rajasthan Royals Squad

Rahul Dravid, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, Sanju Samson, Ashok Menaria, Dishant Yagnik, Vikramjeet Malik, Rahul Shukla, Pravin Tambe, Siddharth Trivedi, Shane Watson, Brad Hodge, James Faulkner, Kevon Cooper, Shaun Tait.

Groups (RR in Pool A)

Group A: Mumbai Indians (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Rajasthan Royals (India), Qualifier.

Group B: Chennai Super Kings (India), Titans (South Africa), Brisbane Heat (Australia), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies), Qualifier.

RR's Fixtures

September 21 (Jaipur)

RR Vs Mumbai Indians (8PM IST)

September 25 (Jaipur)

RR Vs Highveld Lions (8PM IST)

September 29 (Jaipur)

RR Vs Perth Scorchers (8PM IST)

October 1 (Jaipur)

RR Vs Qualifier (8PM IST)

Previous Champions

2009 - NSW Blues (Australia)

2010 - Chennai Super Kings (India)

2011 - Mumbai Indians (India)

2012 - Sydney Sixers (Australia)


Write Comments