10 must-know facts about Champions League 2013 (CLT20)

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, September 17, 2013, 15:13 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

10 must-know facts about CLT20 2013

Mohali, Sep 17: The Champions League Twenty20 tournament will get under way today here at the PCA Stadium with the qualifiers.

Schedule; Squads; News; List of broadcasters

In all there are 12 teams in the tournament. However, two will be eliminated after the qualifying stage. The main stage of CLT20 begins on September 22.

Here are 10 must-know facts about CLT20

1. CLT20 features top Twenty20 sides from seven Test playing nations (India, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, West Indies). There are no teams from England, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

2. A total of 29 matches will be played. Total prize money is $6 million. There are two groups (five teams each). Top two qualify for semi-finals. Four teams are in qualifying with two making the main draw.

3. India is represented by four teams (1 in qualifying - Sunrisers Hyderabad, who finished fourth in IPL 6). Mumbai Indians (IPL 6 champions), Rajasthan Royals (Third in IPL 6) and Chennai Super Kings (Runner-up) gained direct entry by virtue of finishing in top-three of sixth edition of Indian Premier League.

4. Australia has two teams - Brisbane Heat (champions of Australia T20 tournament) and Perth Scorchers (Runners-up). Pakistan has Faisalabad Wolves (Champions) while Sri Lanka's representation is Kandurata Maroons (Winners). South Africa will have Highveld Lions (Winners of domestic competition) and Titans (Runners-up). Otaga Volts (Champions) are from New Zealand. Trinidad and Tobago (Winners) will carry West Indies hopes.

5. Defending champions Sydney Sixers will be missing as they have not qualified this year.

6. This tournament will be the final T20 assignment for Sachin Tendulkar. This is also last competitive cricket event for Rahul Dravid, who is leading Rajasthan Royals (RR).

7. Mumbai Indians (MI) are aiming to become only the second side to clinch a double (IPL and CLT20) in the same year. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were the first to do it in 2010.

8. This is the fifth edition of CLT20 and no team has won the tournament twice so far. New South Wales Blues (2009), CSK (2010), MI (2011) and Sydney Sixers (2012) are the previous winners.

9. Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla will host the final on October 6. Mohali will be the host for qualifying stage from September 17 to 21. Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Ranchi are the other tournament venues. Hyderabad was dropped as a venue due to security reasons and Mohali was chosen.

10. Matches will start at 4PM IST and 8PM IST. Star Spots network with broadcast all matches live.


Story first published:  Tuesday, September 17, 2013, 13:33 [IST]
Write Comments