Yuvraj Singh returns to Team India for Australia series

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, September 30, 2013, 17:09 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Sep 30: Yuvraj Singh has made a return to the Indian team for Australia limited overs series starting next month.

The left-hander, who has been in great form in recent times with India A and for India Blue in Challenger Trophy, has forced the selectors on Monday to include with strong performances. India will play one T20 International and seven ODIs against Australia starting from October 10.

Yuvraj Singh returns to Team India

The selectors have picked a 15-man squad for the lone T20I and first three ODIs.

Yuvraj's last ODI for India was against England in January 2013. He missed Champions Trophy, tri-series in the Caribbean and the Zimbabwe tour.

The 31-year-old hit a hundred and half century against West Indies A in last month's three-match one-day series in Bangalore. In the lone T20 against the same opposition he scored a brisk half ton and has had a fifty in Challenger Trophy, in which he led India Blue to the title on Sunday (September 29).

Yuvraj, who was determined to make a comeback, had an extensive training in Europe along with Zaheer Khan.

Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer continue to be ignored by the selection panel led by Sandeep Patil.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Parvez Rasool and Mohit Sharma, who were all part of India's previous ODI series against Zimbabwe have been dropped. Umesh Yadav, who featured in India's successful Champions Trophy campaign in England in June and rested for Zimbabwe tour, has also not found a place.

Team India for T20I and three ODIs Vs Australia

MS Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashjwin, Bhuvneswar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, R Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Ambati Rayudu, Shami Ahmed, Jaydev Unadkat.

India Vs Australia Schedule (All matches Day/Night)

October 10: T20I: Rajkot

October 13: 1st ODI: Pune

October 16: 2nd ODI: Jaipur

October 19: 3rd ODI: Mohali

October 23: 4th ODI: Ranchi

October 26: 5th ODI: Cuttack

October 30: 6th ODI: Nagpur

November 2: 7th ODI: Bangalore


Story first published:  Monday, September 30, 2013, 12:23 [IST]
Write Comments