Zaheer, Sehwag and Gambhir fail in India A game

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, October 3, 2013, 16:56 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Shimoga (Karnataka), Oct 3: Zaheer Khan, Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag failed to impress during the second day of the India A-West Indies A unofficial 'Test' here on Thursday.

At stumps, India A were 191/3 in 58 overs in reply to the visitors' 406 in first innings. Opener VA Jagadeesh (79 not out, 172 balls, 8x4) and Abhishek Nayar (56 not out, 38 balls, 7x4, 1x6) struck fine half centuries.

Zaheer, Sehwag and Gambhir fail

The duo has so far added 77 runs in 15 overs for the fourth wicket. The hosts trail by 215 runs. Left-hander Nayar played an aggressive innings and brought up his fifty in 28 deliveries.

At the Jawaharlal Nehru National College of Engineering Ground, the big three of this game were expected to enthrall the local fans and press for comeback into the national side. But that did not happen. Sehwag was the crowd favourite but they were disappointed.

First Zaheer was in action and returned with bowling figures of 1/66 in 20 overs. Sehwag batted in the middle order (number 4) and made just 7 runs. Opener Gambhir scored 11.

Sehwag was stumped by Chadwick Walton off left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul. Gambhir too was scalped by Permaul. Captain Cheteshwar Pujara made 25. He was dismissed by left-arm spinner Nikita Miller.

Earlier, left-arm spinner Bhargav Bhatt finished with seven wickets as West Indies A were bowled out for 406 in 121.5 overs. Bhatt's bowling analysis was 30.5-4-113-7.

The visitors had resumed on day two at 283/6. Miller remained unbeaten on 64.

West India A lead the three-match series 1-0 after winning the opener in Mysore.

Brief Scores

West Indies 406 all out in 121.5 overs (Kraigg Brathwaite 83, Nikita Miller 64 not out, Assad Fudadin 63, Bhargav Bhatt 7/113, Zaheer Khan 1/66, Mohammed Shami 1/93, Parvez Rasool 1/80) Vs India A 191/3 in 58 overs (VA Jagadeesh 79 batting, Abhishek Nayar 56 batting, Cheteshwar Pujara 25, Gautam Gambhir 11, Virender Sehwag 7, Veerasammy Permaul 2/60, Miller 1/43)


Story first published:  Thursday, October 3, 2013, 16:47 [IST]
Write Comments