CLT20 2013 Final Highlights: Mumbai Indians win Trophy

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, October 7, 2013, 13:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi, Oct 6: Glenn Maxwell and Harbhajan Singh starred as Mumbai Indians won the Champions League 2013. They defeated Rajasthan Royals in the final by 33 runs.


Chasing 203, RR were in the hunt when Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson were at the crease. But Harbhajan turned the match with three wickets in one over. RR were bowled out for 169 in 18.5 overs.

CLT20 2013 Final Highlights: MI win

Highlights of the final

Fours: MI: 20; RR: 13

Sixes: MI: 9; RR: 8

Top scorers: MI: Dwayne Smith 44 (39 balls, 5x4, 1x6); RR: Ajinkya Rahane 65 (47 balls, 5x4, 2x6)

Highest wickets: RR: Pravin Tambe 2/19 in 4 overs; MI: Harbhajan Singh 4/32 in 4 overs

# MI became the first team to win CLT20 twice. They had won in 2011

# MI made it a double of IPL-CLT20 titles in the same year. They are the second team to achieve this after Chennai Super Kings (2010)

# RR were bowled out for 169 in 18.5 overs chasing 203

# MI posted 202/6 in 20 overs

# Sanju Samson scored a fine 33-ball 60 (4x4, 4x4)

# Rahane was the top scorer for RR with 65 (47 balls, 5x4, 2x6)

# This was Rahane's fourth successive half century in this year's CLT20. This is a record

# Rahane and Samson had a partnership of 109 runs in 11.1 overs. This was the highest partnership of the match

# Harbhajan was the highest wicket-taker in the match with 4/32 in 4 overs

# Harbhajan took three wickets in his final over (17th of the innings)

# RR needed 48 off 24 with 7 wickets in hand but lost all 7 wickets for just 14 runs in 2.5 overs (155/3 in 16 overs to 169 all out in 18.5)

# Samson was dropped by Glenn Maxwell on 53

# Rahul Dravid, in his final innings, batted at No. 8 and was bowled by Nathan Coulter-Nile for 1 off 2 balls

# RR captain Dravid won the toss and invited MI to bat

# Both teams made 1 change each. MI brought in Maxwell for Mitchell Johnson. RR replaced the injured Brad Hodge with Sri Lankan Kushal Perera

# Perera joined the team this afternoon from Sri Lanka

# Maxwell's inclusion turned out to be a masterstroke as the Australian blitzed 37 off 14 with 4 fours and 2 sixes

# Maxwell and Dinesh Karthik plundered 41 in just 2.2 overs in their sixth wicket partnership

# From 60/1 in 10 overs, MI hammered 142 in the final 10

# Sachin Tendulkar's final T20 innings lasted just 13 balls. He scored 15 runs before being bowled by Shane Watson

# Dravid and Tendulkar are playing their last T20 games. This is Dravid's final competitive game while Tendulkar will now be seen only in Tests

# Tendulkar was given a guard of honour by his team-mates as he walked back to the pavilion after his batting innings

# Pravin Tambe won the "Golden Wicket" award for the most wickets in the tournament - 12

# Ajinkya Rahane took the "Golden Bat" honour with the highest runs - 288

# Today, Tambe took 2/19 in 4 overs

# Tambe will turn 42 in two days' time

# MI were 46/1 in 6 overs. 50: 41 balls. 100: 79. 150: 100. 200: 120

# RR were off to a flier and were 71/1 in 6 overs. 50: 27 balls. 100: 59. 150: 95


Story first published:  Sunday, October 6, 2013, 23:55 [IST]
Write Comments