No place for Sachin in Vaughan's all-time Test XI

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, October 25, 2013, 10:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London, Oct 25: It's now former England captain Michael Vaughan's turn to put out his all-time Test XI and shockingly there is no place for Sachin Tendulkar or any other Indian.

Tendulkar is the leading run scorer in Test cricket and is all set to play in world record 200 Tests next month. He will retire from the game after that landmark Test against West Indies in Mumbai.

No Sachin in Vaughan's all-time Test XI

Vaughan took to the micro-blogging site Twitter on Thursday night (October 24) to unveil his all-time Test XI. Two days back Wisden had revealed its World Test XI with Don Bradman as captain and Tendulkar being the lone Indian.

In Vaughan's list, Bradman is featured along with other greats Vivian Richards and Shane Warne. However, there is no place for Ricky Ponting and Brian Lara.

The two opening slots have gone to Englishmen Len Hutton and Jack Hobbs. South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis is at No. 4. Australia's Adam Gilchrist is the wicketkeeper while former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram is one of the two specialist pacemen with Glenn McGrath.

In all, there are three all-rounders - Ian Botham, Garry Sobers and Kallis. In his first tweet, he had named Sri Lanka's Muttaiah Muralitharan as 12th man but in the next tweet he corrected it by writing it was England's Gary Pratt, who famously ran Ponting out as a substitute fielder in Ashes series which led to a huge controversy.

Later, in another tweet, he wrote "My all time team that would empty bars....." which included Tendulkar, Lara, Ponting among others.

Michael Vaughan's all-time Test XI: Len Hutton (England), Jack Hobbs (England), Don Bradman (Australia), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Vivian Richards (West Indies), Garry Sobers (West Indies), Ian Botham (England), Adam Gilchrist (Australia), Wasim Akram (Pakistan), Shane Warne (Australia), Glenn McGrath (Australia). 12th man: Gary Pratt (England).


Story first published:  Friday, October 25, 2013, 9:52 [IST]
Write Comments