Dhoni, Kohli nominated for ICC People's Choice Award

Posted by:
Published: Monday, November 4, 2013, 11:08 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai, Nov 4: This year's fourth People's Choice Award sees five players from four different countries nominated to win the only award voted for by the public at the annual LG ICC Awards.

The quintet of players nominated for the award are Australia's Michael Clarke, England's Alastair Cook, India's duo of MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli, and South Africa's AB de Villiers.

Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favourite player either via www.lgiccawards.com or via Twitter using the hashtag #lgiccawards.

Voting opened on Saturday, 2 November and will close at midnight (UAE time) on Saturday 23 November with the winner to be announced on Friday 13 December, along with all the other winners of the ICC Awards 2013. More details can be found at www.lgiccawards.com, ICC said in a media release.

The short list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. Other members of the panel are England's Alec Stewart, New Zealand's Catherine Campbell, Pakistan's Waqar Younis and South Africa's Graeme Pollock.

The five players were selected by the panel using the criteria set out by and the ICC.

This dictated that the nominees should have displayed some of the attributes regarded by LG as being in line with its corporate qualities such as innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: "This is the fourth year of the LG People's Choice Award and it continues to be hugely popular among fans across the globe.

"This year we see a number of new names nominated for the title, all tremendous entertainers who play with style and skill. I'm sure all the fans will come out in force to vote for their favourite."

Details of the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year, as well as short-lists for this year's ICC Awards will be announced on Monday 11 November 2013 at a press conference in Mumbai, details of which will be released shortly.

This year marks the 10th year of the ICC Awards, and will see a change in the format of the Awards. The formal event will be replaced with a special TV show that will be broadcast towards the end of the year. The show is set to recap the last year in world cricket and will feature interviews with many nominees and winners.

Based on the period between 7 August 2012 and 25 August 2013, the ICC Awards 2013 take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012, the ICC Women's World Cup 2013 held in India, the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 held in England and Wales, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, plus several bilateral Test and ODI series.


Write Comments