Brijesh Patel and Wodeyar join hands to contest KSCA polls

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, November 11, 2013, 9:55 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Nov 9: Former India batsman Brijesh Patel and Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wodeyar, the scion of the Mysore royal family have teamed up to contest next month's Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) elections.

Patel and Wodeyar, the former secretary and president of KSCA, announced today that they will contest this time after staying away from polls last term. Patel was KSCA secretary for 12 years.

Brijesh-Wodeyar team up for KSCA polls

The current KSCA president and secretary Anil Kumble and Javagal Srinath and group have decided not to seek re-election. Former India captain Kumble and former India paceman Srinath had won in 2010 for a three-year period.

At a press conference on Saturday, Patel and Wodeyar listed out their plans for development of cricket in Karnataka if re-elected for 2013-15 term on December 1. Among them is reviving of Twenty20 tournament - Karnataka Premier League (KPL).

"Brijesh Patel and I have decided to join hands keeping best interest of KSCA in mind, the institution and the cricketing public in particular. As a team we are confident if elected, that we can put our best efforts for growth and development of the game and the association," Wodeyar said.

"I will operate within authority provided by the by-laws. There are certain anomalies and ambiguities; I've already discussed it with Brijesh in detail and we will address them positively. The present incumbent have chopped and changed formats of tournaments, which we will reintroduce once again," he added.

The Patel-Wodeyar team has the support of industrialist Dr Vijay Mallya, who is also the owner of IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Mallya will be a member of the Managing Committee. Former India fast bowler Dodda Ganesh is also part of the group.

The team said they would like to make Bangalore's M Chinnaswamy Stadium the best in the world.

For players, they intend to have exchange programmes with international leagues and counties.

Contestants from Patel-Wodeyar team

President: Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wodeyar

Vice-presidents: Ashok Anand, Sudhakar Rao, Sanjay Desai

Secretary: Brijesh Patel

Treasurer: Dayanand Pai


Story first published:  Saturday, November 9, 2013, 18:53 [IST]
Write Comments