Vijay Zol to lead India U-19 in ACC Asia Cup

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, November 28, 2013, 16:55 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Vijay Zol to lead India U-19 in Asia Cup

New Delhi, Nov 28: Maharashtra batsman Vijay Zol has been named captain of the India Under-19 squad for the ACC Asia Cup which will be held from December 28 to January 4 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Kerala wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, who was part of the Under-19 team for the Asia Cup in 2012, has been appointed Zol's deputy.

"The All-India Junior Selection Committee met in Delhi on 27th November to pick the Indian team for the ACC U-19 Asia Cup to be played in the UAE in December 2013-January 2014," said a statement from Anurag Thakur, Joint Secreatry, BCCI.

India are in Group A with Pakistan, UAE and Nepal. Group B consists of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Malaysia.

The top two from each group progress to semi-finals.

India's first match is against UAE on December 28. They face arch-rivals Pakistan on December 31.

Squad: Vijay Zol (captain), Sanju Samson (vice-captain), Akhil Herwadkar, Ankush Bains, Ricky Bhui, Shreyas Iyer, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav, Amir Gani, Karan Kaila, CV Milind, Avesh Khan, Rishi Arothe and Monu Kumar Singh.


December 28: India vs UAE (Sharjah Cricket Stadium)

Pakistan vs Nepal (ICC GCA 1)

Bangladesh vs Malaysia (Abu Dhabi Oval 1)

Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi Oval 2)

December 29: India vs Nepal (ICC GCA 1)

Pakistan vs UAE (Sharjah Cricket Stadium)

Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi Oval 1)

Sri Lanka vs Malaysia (Abu Dhabi Oval 2)

December 31: India vs Pakistan (Dubai International Stadium)

Nepal vs UAE (Sharjah Cricket Stadium)

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Sheikh Zayed Stadium)

Afghanistan vs Malaysia (Abu Dhabi Oval 1)

January 2, 2014: 1A vs 2B (SF1) (Sharjah Cricket Stadium)

1B vs 2A (SF2) (ICC GCA 1)

January 4: Final (Sharjah Cricket Stadium)


Write Comments