Brijesh Patel-Wodeyar group makes a clean sweep of KSCA polls

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, December 1, 2013, 23:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Dec 1: The Brijesh Patel-Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wodeyar group made a clean sweep of Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) elections here on Sunday at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Patel-Wodeyar team won all 23 posts while the 24th position was chosen unopposed before today. All 24 have gone in favour of Patel-Wodeyar team.

Brijesh-Wodeyar group wins KSCA polls

Patel was elected as the secretary while Wodeyar, the scion of Mysore royal family, was chosen as the president for a three-year term (2013-16).

Sadananda Maiya and his candidates, backed by Anil Kumble and Javagal Srinath, were defeated by a huge margin. With almost half of the votes counted, Maiya, sensing that defeat was a foregone conclusion, made a hurried exit from the stadium premises at around 8.45 PM.

Wodeyar and Patel both have returned to KSCA administration after 2010. In last elections, Wodeyar had lost to Kumble while Patel, a former India batsman, had decided not to contest. Patel has previously served as KSCA secretary for 12 years from 1998.

Kumble and Srinath had decided not to contest this year's elections. They were elected to the office of KSCA in 2010. However, the duo had backed Maiya's and his candidates. But that did not sway the 1,844 members.

A total of 1,344 members voted today including former India captain Rahul Dravid. Among others who voted were former Test cricketers EAS Prasanna, BS Chandrasekhar, Syed Kirmani and GR Viswanath. Industrialist and owner of IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore, Vijay Mallya too voted. Mallya had supported Patel-Wodeyar team.

Speaking after the victory, Wodeyar thanked all the members and vowed to work for the development of cricket. "I would like to thank all the members for electing us. Brijesh-Wodeyar group is unbeatable in KSCA," he said.

Patel, who got the most number of individual votes of 977, said "I must thank the KSCA members for giving us a very, very good mandate. We can't expect a better mandate than this, 24 out of 24 is a great mandate they have given us. Now the ball is in our court where we need to deliver in the next three years, and in all areas. One is cricket, which is very, very important. Our first target is to see that the Ranji Trophy team does well and that junior cricket is played and revived."

Treasurer Dr Dayanand Pai said the members had defeated "arrogance and egoism" of the previous committee. "The members have taught them a lesson for their arrogance and egoism. We have won all 24 seats. We will do everything required of us. This is a new chapter for cricket in Karnataka."

Former India bowler Dodda Ganesh was also elected to the Managing Committee. He garnered 899 votes.

The victorious group's supporters burst crackers outside the stadium to celebrate the win. The new team will take charge on Tuesday (December 3).

Outgoing president Kumble congratulated Wodeyar and Patel. "I would like to congratulate the new committee," Kumble said.

Results of KSCA elections with number of votes

President: Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wodeyar - 923, defeated Sadananda Maiya - 413

Secretary: Brijesh Patel - 977, defeated AV Jayaprakash - 313

Treasurer: Dayananda Pai - 932, defeated Tallam Venkatesh, 372


Sudhakar Rao R - 915

Ashok Anand PR - 861

Sanjay Desai - 790

Managing Committee

Life members: Raghuram Bhat A: 953; Ganesha D: 899; Srinivasa Murthy NS: 881; Mallikarjuna Swamy HM: 816; Manjunath VM: 809; Lachman K. Mahtani 791.

Institutional members (Bangalore Zone): City Cricketers: 980; Jayanagar Colts: 894; The Bangalore Cricketers: 882; Swastik Union Cricket Club: 872; Vijaya Cricket Club, Malur: 860: Vultures Cricket Club: 782.

Other zones: Mysore Zone: RBN Cricket Club - 811; Shimoga Zone: Durgigudi Cricket Association: 908; Tumkur Zone: Tumkur Occassionals: 933; Mangalore Zone: Mangalore Sports Club: 770; Raichur Zone: City XI Cricket Club - 926; Dharward Zone: BDK Sports Foundation: Unopposed.


Story first published:  Sunday, December 1, 2013, 23:13 [IST]
Write Comments