MS Dhoni named captain of ICC ODI Team of the Year

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, December 3, 2013, 12:25 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Dec 3: India captain MS Dhoni has been named as the skipper of ICC ODI Team of the Year.

On Tuesday, ICC announced the nominations for this year's LG ICC Awards and also unveiled the ODI and Test Teams of the Year.

Dhoni named captain of ICC ODI Team

Apart from Dhoni, Ravindra Jadjea and Shikhar Dhawan are the other two Indians in the ODI Team of the Year.

Dhoni also features in the Test Team of the Year to be captained by England's Alastair Cook. Cheteshwar Pujara is the other Indian in the line-up. R Ashwin has been picked as the 12th man.

Seven countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and only one player - Dhoni - finds a place in the side for the sixth consecutive years. The ICC Champions Trophy 2013-winning captain has also been named as the captain, and will lead the side that also includes Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka, who were members of the ICC ODI Team of the Year 2012.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson commented: "I'd like to congratulate all those selected for the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the year. Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and are thoroughly deserving of the recognition they receive"

The Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Anil Kumble, added: "It is always tough to decide on the Test and ODI teams of the year, with so many worthy candidates to consider based on the players' performances between 7 August 2012 and 25 August 2013.

"The selection panel had a lengthy debate on all the top performers during the performance period and a number of combinations were considered.

"The selectors did utilise a vast amount of statistics from the period under observation, but we also took into account other factors like the opposition, pitch conditions, match situation and the like. But when you have only 12 places to fill from a big group of world-class players, there will always be a few who will miss out.

"In the panel's expert opinion, it has selected the best Test and ODI Teams based on performances over the past 12 months."

Kumble was joined on the panel by former Pakistan fast bowler and captain Waqar Younis, former England captain and wicketkeeper Alec Stewart, former South Africa batsman and current Hall of Famer Graeme Pollock, and former New Zealand women's player Catherine Campbell. Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.

Four countries are represented in the 12-man Test line-up, and South Africa's Dale Steyn has earned a place in the ICC Test Team of the Year for the sixth successive year.It is the fourth year in a row for South Africa's Hashim Amla, while England captain Alastair Cook, who is named as the captain, appears in the side for the third straight year.

Based on the period between 7 August 2012 and 25 August 2013, the LG ICC Awards 2013 take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012, the ICC Women's World Cup 2013 held in India, the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 held in England and Wales, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, and several bilateral Test, ODI and T20I series.

The LG ICC Awards is now in its 10th year, and this year will be broadcast as a TV show. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004 and 2011), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008), Bengaluru (2010) and Colombo (2012).

ICC ODI Team of the Year (In Batting Order)

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Shikhar Dhawan (India), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers (South Africa), MS Dhoni (India, captain and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (India), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan), Mitchell Starc (Australia), James Anderson (England), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka). 12th Man: Mitchel McClenaghan (New Zealand)

ICC Test Team of the Year (In Batting Order)

Alastair Cook (England, captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Michael Clarke (Australia), Michael Hussey (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), MS Dhoni (India, wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (England), Dale Steyn (South Africa), James Anderson (England), Vernon Philander (South Africa), 12th Man: R Ashwin (India).


Story first published:  Tuesday, December 3, 2013, 11:46 [IST]
Write Comments