India crash to 141-run defeat in 1st ODI

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, December 6, 2013, 1:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg, Dec 5: South Africa thrashed India by 141 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match One Day International series here on Thursday.

Scorecard; Highlights

Indian batsmen found pace, bounce and swing too hot to handle at the Wanderers Stadium as they chased 359 in 50 overs in the first ODI. Proteas' fast bowlers were on top right from the start and bowled India out for 217 in 41 overs.

India crash to 141-run defeat in 1st ODI

Captain MS Dhoni was the lone ranger for the visitors with a half century. He was the ninth man out for 65 runs (71 balls, 8x4, 1x6). But the damage was done early on with India reeling at 108/5 in 22.3 overs. From then on, it was an uphill task.

Dale Steyn was superb at the start with two successive maidens to Rohit Sharma. He returned for his second spell and had a wicket-maiden over.

He had three wickets for 25 in 8 overs (3 maidens). The right-arm quick also used his arm to execute a brilliant run out of Suresh Raina from the outfield.

Ryan McLaren was the other paceman who was among the wickets. He too scalped three. It was an all-pace attack for South Africa, with six bowlers on view.

The second ODI is in Durban on Sunday (December 8). It is a day game and will start at 1.30 PM IST.

South Africa post 358/4

Quinton de Kock, the 20-year-old left-handed opener struck a fine 135 off 121 balls to power South Africa to a mammoth 358/4 in 50 overs.

De Kock registered his highest ODI score and his second ton in the format to help the home team cross the 300-run mark.

The platform was laid by De Kock along with his fellow opener Hashim Amla (65). The duo had a 152-run partnership in 29.3 overs for the first wicket.

After the initial good work, captain AB de Villiers and JP Duminy launched an assault on the Indian bowlers in the final overs.

Duminy hit a 25-ball half century while De Villiers too joined him in the fifty club. As the duo went berserk, 135 runs came in final 10 overs. The final five yielded 84.

Captain De Villiers smashed a 47-ball 77 (6x4, 4x6) and Duminy blasted 59 not out off 29 with 2 boundaries and 5 sixes.

De Villiers and Duminy had a 105-run partnership for the fourth wicket in only 7.4 overs.

For the first time in 17 ODIs, South Africa managed to cross 300 runs.

De Kock, playing at his home ground, was in good form right from the start. Barring a tough dropped chance on 21 by Mohammed Shami, the left-hander was fluent in his innings of 135 which was punctuated by 18 boundaries and three sixes.

Last month in Abu Dhabi, De Kock has struck his maiden ODI hundred against Pakistan. In that game, he had made 112.

Part-timer medium-pace bowler Virat Kohli dismissed De Kock caught and bowled in the 42nd over. Captain MS Dhoni had brought on Kohli in that over and he struck with his fifth ball.

Offspinner R Ashwin went wicketless in his 10-over spell, conceding 58 runs.

India's bowlers were taken for plenty and the most expensive was paceman Mohit Sharma (0/82 in 10 overs). This was Mohit's first match in South Africa.

Mohammed Shami was the most successful bowler for India with 3/68 in 10 overs with one maiden.

Toss Report

India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to field first.

This is the first of the three-match series. With a chance of rain and dew later, Dhoni opted to send the home team to bat first.

India remained unchanged from their previous ODI against West Indies in Kanpur.

South Africa welcomed back Jacques Kallis while spinner Imran Tahir was dropped.

South Africa have opted for an all-pace attack with Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Wayne Parnell and Ryan McLaren in the side.

Part-time spinner JP Duminy is expected to bowl few overs. This ODI rubber will be followed by a two-Test series.

Playing XIs

India: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Match starts at 5PM IST


Story first published:  Thursday, December 5, 2013, 16:52 [IST]
Write Comments