Dhoni aims to win World T20 2014 to complete 'unique feat'

Posted by:
Published: Friday, December 6, 2013, 18:09 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhaka, Dec 6: India captain MS Dhoni is aiming to complete a "unique feat" of holding all three ICC global trophies at the same time by winning next year's ICC World Twenty20 2014 in Bangladesh.

Dhoni is the only captain in cricket history to have won all three ICC's global honours. He first led India to the inaugural World T20 crown in South Africa in 2007 and then pocketed ICC World Cup 2011 at home before capturing the ICC Champions Trophy this year.

Dhoni aims to win World T20 2014

West Indies are the current holders of the World T20 after they won the title in 2012 in Sri Lanka.

"It's personally quite exciting for me as a captain, as I look forward to leading India's quest to reclaim the ICC World Twenty20 title," Dhoni said as the International Cricket Council (ICC) celebrated the 100-day countdown to the event today in Bangladesh.

"If India manages to snare this coveted trophy, it will complete a unique feat as it already holds the ICC Cricket World Cup and ICC Champions Trophy. We are familiar with the conditions in Bangladesh and I'm sure they will suit our style of play," Dhoni added.

"So with just 100 days to go to the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, we can barely wait for the start of the event, and look forward to producing our best performances against some of the best sides in the world," Dhoni said.

The countdown clock was unveiled on Thursday evening amid much fanfare, confetti and fireworks at South Plaza Gate, National Parliament House, Dhaka; Chittagong's Circuit House Circle, M.A. Aziz Stadium and Sylhet's Keane Bridge (Surma River).

Concerts at the three venues wowed the audiences, and present at the sites were Bangladesh Cricket Board President Nazmul Hassan (in Dhaka), and BCB Directors AZM Nasir and Shafiul Alam Chowdhury (in Chittagong and Sylhet, respectively). Also attending the celebrations at different venues were Bangladesh men's team members Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Anamul Haque and women's team captain Salma Khatun and her teammates Ayesha Rahman and Jahanara Ahmed.

The men's event will include ICC's 10 Full Members and, for the first time, six ICC Associate members (Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Nepal, the Netherlands and the United Arab Emirates), who qualified through the recently concluded ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013.

The first round matches will start on 16 March with the opener between Bangladesh and Afghanistan while India and Pakistan will feature in the first match of the Super 10 stage on 21 March. The semi-finals will be played on 3 and 4 April and the final will be staged on 6 April.

The women's event will feature 10 teams and Australia will attempt to complete a hat-trick of titles. The first round matches to take place in Sylhet from 23 March to 2 April. The top two sides from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

Dhoni and Team India are currently in South Africa to play a three-match ODI series and two Tests.


Write Comments