South Africa name Test squad for India series

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, December 9, 2013, 17:01 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

SA name Test squad for India series

Johannesburg, Dec 9: Cricket South Africa (CSA) today named an unchanged 15-man squad for the two-match Test Series against India to be played here from December 18. Graeme Smith will lead the side while AB de Villiers will be the vice-captain.

The first Test match will be played at the Wanderers Stadium from December 18-22 and the second at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead in Durban from December 26-30.

"We were very happy with the performance of the Proteas in the second Test match (against Pakistan) at Dubai," commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson, "and we see no need to change something that is operating well."

India and South Africa are currently involved in a One Day International series. The hosts have sealed the series with an unassailable 2-0 lead. The final ODI is on December 11 in Centurion.

South Africa Squad

Graeme Smith (captain), AB de Villiers (vice-captain), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile.


Story first published:  Monday, December 9, 2013, 16:12 [IST]
Write Comments