3rd ODI abandoned due to rain, SA take series 2-0

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 12, 2013, 0:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

3rd ODI abandoned, SA take series 2-0

Centurion, Dec 11: Rain played spoilsport in the third One Day International between South Africa and India here on Wednesday. The final ODI of the series had to be abandoned due to rain and the hosts took the trophy with 2-0 score.

Scorecard; Highlights

Persistent rain after the home team's innings forced the match officials to call off the game. They waited for more than 3 hours for the rain to relent but with no signs of it, they ended the proccedings at 8.10 pm local time (11.40 pm IST).

Earlier, Quinton de Kock notched up his third successive hundred while his captain A B de Villiers also struck a century as South Africa wriggled out of a tight spot to post an imposing 301 for 8.

Opening batsman de Kock smashed nine fours and two sixes for his 101 off 120 balls to become the third South African and fifth overall batsman to hit a century in three successive innings to take the home side past 300 after being reduced to 28 for three in the eighth over at Supersport Park.

Skipper de Villiers, who hit his 16th ODI century, shared a crucial 171-run partnership for the fourth wicket with de Kock to repair the South African innings. De Villiers struck six fours and five sixes in his 101-ball innings. For India, pacer Ishant Sharma finished with 4/40 from his 10 overs, picking up his 100th ODI wicket in doing so.

The Proteas' in-form openers Hashim Amla and de Kock began in the same fashion as they did in the previous two matches, with the opening overs of Ishant and Umesh Yadav resulting in a string of boundaries.

However, there was a difference this time. India would strike early, and not just once. First up, Mohammad Shami was successful in breaking the opening stand cheaply. The first wicket yielded only 22 runs, as Amla was out pulling, caught by Yuvraj.

He followed up his century in Durban with only 13 runs. Ishant then got a double break-through for his team, dismissing both Davids (1) and JP Duminy (1) in the eighth over. For the first time in three matches, the hosts were feeling the heat after being reduced to 28 for three.

Toss Report

South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat.

The hosts rested Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Jacques Kallis. Wayne Parnell, Imran Tahir and Henry Davids are the replacements.

India brought back Yuvraj Singh in place of Ajinkya Rahane.

In his pitch report, former South Africa captain Shaun Pollock said there was no grass on the 22-yard strip and whoever wins the toss should bat first.

South Africa have already sealed the series with a 2-0 lead. India's batting came a cropper in both games, bowled out for 217 and 146.


India: MS Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Henry Davids, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Match starts at 5 PM IST

Series Results

1st ODI: South Africa won by 141 runs

2nd ODI: South Africa won by 134 runs


Story first published:  Wednesday, December 11, 2013, 16:40 [IST]
Write Comments