Kapil Dev to receive CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 15:13 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kapil to receive CK Nayudu Award

Mumbai, Dec 18: Former India captain Kapil Dev will receive the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for the year 2013, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Wednesday.

"Mr. Kapil Dev Nikhanj will receive the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, which comprises a trophy, citation and a cheque for Rs. 25 lakhs, at the BCCI Awards Ceremony for the year 2012-13, the details of which will be announced soon," the Indian cricket board's secretary Sanjay Patel said today.

Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, named after India's first Test captain, is given to individuals whose contribution to Indian cricket, on and off the field, is unparalleled, BCCI said.

"The Board's Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award Committee, comprising Mr. N. Srinivasan, President, BCCI, Mr. Sanjay Patel, Hony. Secretary, BCCI, and Mr. Ayaz Memon, Senior Journalist, met in Chennai to nominate a winner, earlier today. It was unanimously decided to nominate Mr. Kapil Dev for the award," Patel added.

Kapil led India to its first World Cup win in 1983. One of the greatest all-rounder of all-time Kapil played 131 Tests for India taking 434 wickets, record at one time.

Kapil was the first player to achieve the ‘double' of 5,000 runs and 400 wickets in Tests. In an illustrious career that commenced in 1978 and concluded in 1994, he represented India in 131 Tests, from which he took 434 wickets. He also scored 5,248 runs, inclusive of eight centuries. He played 225 ODIs, in which he took 253 wickets and scored 3,783 runs.

Last year, BCCI conferred the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award to another former captain Sunil Gavaskar.

Previous winners of the award

1994 - Lala Amarnath

1995 - Syed Mushtaq Ali

1996 - Capt. Vijay Hazare

1997 - K.N. Prabhu

1998 - P. R. Umrigar

1999 - Col. Hemachandra Adhikari

2000 - Subhash Gupte

2001 - Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi

2002 - Bhausaheb Nimbalkar

2003 - Chandrakant Borde

2004 - B.S. Bedi, B. Chandrasekhar, EAS Prasanna, S. Venkataraghvan

2007 - Nariman Contractor

2008 - Gundappa Viswanath

2009 - Mohinder Amarnath

2010 - Salim Durani

2011 - Ajit Wadekar

2012 - Sunil Gavaskar


Read more about: cricket, kapil dev, bcci, sanjay patel
Story first published:  Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 15:02 [IST]
Write Comments