Zaheer Khan takes 300th Test wicket

Posted by:
Published: Monday, December 23, 2013, 9:12 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg, Dec 21: Veteran speedster Zaheer Khan became the fourth Indian to take 300 Test wickets when he dismissed South Africa's Jacques Kallis in the first Test here on Sunday (December 22) in the epic drawn encounter here.


The 35-year-old Zaheer, who was sidelined from the Indian team for 11 months before earning a recall for the South Africa sojourn, has joined an elite band of Indian bowlers with his 300th scalp today during the fourth day's play. Zaheer was lucky to get his 300th scalp as the umpire wrongly adjudged Kallis LBW even though the batsman had edged the ball onto his pads.

Zaheer Khan takes 300th Test wicket

Former India captain and legspinner Anil Kumble is the most successful bowler for the country with 619 victims. The second in the list is another former Indian captain and fast bowling all-rounder Kapil Dev with 434 dismissals.

Offspinner Harbhajan Singh is the third highest wicket-taker India with 413. Zaheer is now the fourth in the list. Overall, Zaheer is the 27th bowler in Test history to take 300 wickets.

Sri Lanka's Muttaiah Muralitharan is the world leader with 800 scalps. Shane Warne of Australia is second with 708 while Kumble is third.

Zaheer made his Test debut against Bangladesh in November, 2000, under the captaincy of Sourav Ganguly. He is now playing in his 89th Test. His best bowling figures are 7/87 in an innings and 10/149 in the match.

Zaheer has so far taken 10 five-wicket and 1 10-wicket hauls. His bowling average is 32.35, strike rate is 59.7 and economy rate is 3.25 (all statistics before start of this Test).

In One Day Internationals, Zaheer has 282 wickets from 200 matches.

The left-armer is the second fast bowler from India after Kapil to reach the 300 milestone.

Highest wicket-takers in Tests for India (Top 10)

Anil Kumble - 619 (132 matches)

Kapil Dev - 434 (131)

Harbhajan Singh 413 (101)

Zaheer Khan - 300 (89)

Bishan Singh Bedi - 266 (67)

BS Chandrasekhar - 242 (58)

Javagal Srinath - 236 (67)

EAS Prasanna - 189 (49)

Vinoo Mankad - 162 (44)

S Venkatraghavan - 156 (57)


Write Comments