India beat Pakistan to win Under-19 Asia Cup title

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, January 4, 2014, 19:40 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sharjah, Jan 4: India defeated Pakistan by 40 runs to win the ACC Under-19 Asia Cup here at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Captain Vijay Zol (100) and Sanju Samson (100) were the stars for India in the final. Thanks to the twin centuries, India posted 314/8 in 50 overs. In reply, Pakistan were restricted to 274/9 in 50 overs.

India beat Pakistan to win U-19 Asia Cup

India avenged their defeat to the arch rivals in the league stage. They had gone down earlier by 2 wickets. Pakistan were unbeaten till the final but could not cross the last hurdle.

Pakistan too had a centurion in the form of Kamran Ghulam (102 not out) but that was not enough to chase down a big target of 315. Skipper and opener Sami Aslam hit 87.

For India, left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav took three wickets for 72 runs in 10 overs. Fast bowlers Chama Milind, Deepak Hooda and offspinner Aamir Gani scalped two apiece.

Sent to bat, India had a good opening partnership between Ankush Bains and Akhil Herwadkar (12). The duo raced to 65 runs in 6.4 overs. Bains was dismissed for 47 off 34 balls with 7 fours and a six.

After the pair's exit, Zol and Samson joined for a 180-run association for the third wicket. Zol hit 100 off 120 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes. Samson too made exactly 100 from 87 deliveries with 8 fours and 4 sixes.

Apart from Zol and Samson, there were not much contributions from the lower order.

In the chase, barring Aslam and Ghulam the rest of Pakistan batsmen did not come good and they fell short by 40 runs. They were in deep trouble at 181/5 in 34.1 overs. However, Ghulam fought till the finish but Indian bowlers came on top.

Brief Scores

India Under-19 314/8 in 50 overs (Vijay Zol 100, Sanju Samson 100, Ankush Bains 47, Zia-ul-Haq 2/56, Zafar Gohar 2/52, Karamat Ali 2/78) beat Pakistan Under-19 274/9 in 50 overs (Kamran Ghulam 102 not out, Sami Aslam 87, Kuldeep Yadav 3/72, Chama Milind 2/44, Deepak Hooda 2/37, Aamir Gani 2/39)


Write Comments