Brett Lee to captain Prime Minister's XI against England

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, January 9, 2014, 11:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lee to captain PM XI against England

Canberra, Jan 9: Former Australia fast bowler Brett Lee has been named as the captain of the Prime Minister's XI to face England at Manuka Oval here on January 14.

Prime Minister of Australia Tony Abbott MP and Cricket Australia's National Selection Panel (NSP) today named the 12-man squad.

Abbott said, " It is an honour to announce the squad to take on England in next week's Prime Minister's XI match.

"This team is an exciting mix of new talent and seasoned hands.

"After such an extraordinary Ashes win by the Australian Cricket team, I am looking forward to what should be another great day in our summer of cricket," the Prime Minister concluded.

National Selection Panel Chairman John Inverarity said of the team announcement: "This match is a special fixture on the Australian cricketing calendar. Brett Lee and Brad Hodge bring leadership and experience to the team and will be great drawcards.

"Chris Lynn has been in excellent form this season in all forms of the game. Jackson Bird is recovering well from injury and we are keen to increase his workload.

"We have also been pleased with the progress of left-arm orthodox spinner Clive Rose, who has performed well for Tasmania in the Bupa Sheffield Shield.

"ACT local Michael Spaseski is a promising young batsman and provides a great cricketing story. He is a first generation Australian of Macedonian parents, who knew nothing about cricket when they first came to Australia.

"We have every confidence that this team will perform well and that the players selected will represent the Prime Minister's XI with pride," Inverarity concluded.

Cricket ACT Chairman Ian McNamee said, "The Prime Minister's XI game provides a fantastic opportunity for the most talented ACT players to show their skills against international opposition.

"This match will showcase the wonderful upgrades at Manuka Oval, with the new playing surface and lights taking the venue to an international standard," McNamee said.


Brett Lee (captain), Jackson Bird, Ben Cutting, Peter Handscomb (wk), Brad Hodge, Chris Lynn, Alister McDermott, James Muirhead, Luke Pomersbach, Clive Rose, Michael Spaseski. 12th man: Shane Devoy.


Write Comments