Mumbai Indians retain Rohit, Malinga, Harbhajan, Rayudu, Pollard

Posted by:
Published: Friday, January 10, 2014, 16:46 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Jan 10: Defending champions Mumbai Indians have retained Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh and Ambati Rayudu as per the IPL's new retention rules for the season 2014.

In a media release Friday, MI announced that they will retain these five players - three Indians and two overseas.

MI retain Rohit, Malinga, 3 others

As per IPL retention rules, a franchise can retain maximum of five players. Today was the deadline for the teams to announce the list.

Last year, MI defeated Chennai Super Kings in the final to win the IPL 6 title. It was Sachin Tendulkar's last IPL. They also won the Champions League Twenty20 in 2013.

MI owner Nita Ambani said, "The formidable combination of these five players - Rohit, Pollard, Malinga, Bhajji and Rayudu - forms the nucleus of Mumbai Indians. They have exemplified the spirit of Mumbai Indians and are match-winners in their own right. With the retention of the core players, Mumbai Indians look forward to build a stronger, well-knit team and share the joy of an enthralling and entertaining performance with its ever-growing fans in the coming season."


Write Comments