Vijay Zol to lead India in Under-19 World Cup in UAE

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, January 14, 2014, 14:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Jan 14: Vijay Zol will captain India in the ICC Under-19 World Cup to be held in United Arab Emirates (UAE) from February 14 to March 1.

The 15-man squad also includes Kerala's Sanju Samson. India begin title defence against Pakistan on February 15. The team will be coached by B Arun, who was in-charge of the successful campaign in 2012 too.

Vijay Zol to lead India in Under-19 WC

India are in Group A with Pakistan, Scotland and Papua New Guinea.

India have won the tournament thrice - 2000, 2008 and 2012. Mohammad Kaif and Virat Kohli were the captains in 2000 and 2008 respectively while Unmukt Chand was the skipper in 2012.

In the 16-day tournament, 48 matches will be played across seven venues, which are: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; Abu Dhabi Oval 1; Abu Dhabi Oval 2; Sharjah Cricket Stadium; Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Sports City; ICC Academy Oval 1, Dubai, and ICC Academy Oval 2, Dubai.

On the opening day of the tournament on 14 February, four matches will be played, with 1998 winner England taking on the UAE at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; Zimbabwe locking horns with Canada at Abu Dhabi Oval 1; New Zealand meeting Sri Lanka at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, and South Africa taking on the West Indies at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

The format of the competition is such that the 16 teams have been divided into four groups, with the top two teams progressing to the Super League quarter-finals, while the two bottom teams from each group qualify for the Plate Championship quarter-finals.

The UAE tournament will be the 10th edition of the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup since its inception in 1988. Australia won the tournament in 1988, 2002 and 2010, England was the champion in 1998, India held aloft the trophy in 2000, 2008 and 2012 and Pakistan was the winner in 2004 and 2006.

India Squad

Vijay Zol (captain), Akhil Herwadkar, Ankush Bains, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Vishwanadh Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav, Amir Gani, Karan Kaila, CV Milind, Avesh Khan, Monu Kumar Singh and Atit Seth.

Team Management

Coach: B Arun. Assistant Coach: R Sridhar. Fielding Coach: Biju George. Physio: Sreenivas PR. Trainer: Anant Date. Video Analyst: Ashutosh Dandige. Manager: RI Palani.

The four groups

Group A: India, Pakistan, Scotland, Papua New Guinea

Group B: Australia, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Namibia

Group C: South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Canada

Group D: New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, UAE

Previous Champions

1988 - Australia

1998 - England

2000 - India

2002 - Australia

2004 - Pakistan

2006 - Pakistan

2008 - India

2010 - Australia

2012 - India


Write Comments