Pietersen in 30-man England squad for World T20

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, January 16, 2014, 10:55 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pietersen in 30-man squad for World T20

London, Jan 16: Kevin Pietersen has been named in England's 30-man provisional squad for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 to be held in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6.

The squad, to be led by Stuart Broad, will be pruned to 15 after the three-match T20 series against Australia.

In the past few weeks, there was speculation over Pietersen's Test future after the team's humiliating 0-5 loss to Australia in Ashes series. He has been rested for ODI and T20 series against the old foes.

"England will face New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa and a qualifier in Chittagong in the group stages of the 2014 competition. The squad will be halved to a final 15-man squad following the three-match T20 series against Australia beginning on 29 January," England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said in a statement on Wednesday (January 15).

England won the ICC World T20 title in the Caribbean. In the 2012 tournament, which was held in Sri Lanka, England reached the Super Eight stage with 14 players from that squad included in the provisional squad for the 2014 tournament.

England's 30-man squad

Stuart Broad (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Ravi Bopara, Scott Borthwick, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Steven Parry, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, James Tredwell, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright.


Write Comments