No Sehwag, Gambhir in India's 30-man squad for ICC World T20

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, January 17, 2014, 17:48 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

No Sehwag in 30-man squad for WT20

Mumbai, Jan 17: Youngsters Sanju Samson and Unmukt Chand were today included in India's 30-man probables list for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 to be held in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6.

WT20 Schedule

There was no place for Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Pathan brothers - Yusuf and Irfan. With the selectors ignoring Sehwag for India duty, this could be the end of his international career. However, there is still hope for Gambhir and Pathan duo as they are much younger than Sehwag.

Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh are also part of the initial squad. The final set of 15 players for the tournament will be announced later.

India, who won the inaugural tournament in South Africa in 2007, are in Group 2 with Pakistan, Australia, West Indies and a Qualifier. Group 1 consists of Sri Lanka, South Africa, New Zealand, England and a Qualifier.

India will open their campaign against Pakistan on March 21.

India Probables List

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, R Vinay Kumar, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Amit Mishra, Rajat Bhatia, Sanju Samson, Ishwar Pandey, Umesh Yadav, Unmukt Chand, Mandeep Singh, Harbhjan Singh, Varun Aaron, Shahbaz Nadeem, Parthiv Patel, Karn Sharma.


Story first published:  Friday, January 17, 2014, 17:33 [IST]
Write Comments