Mark Waugh to enter Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, January 19, 2014, 17:15 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

M Waugh to enter Australian Hall of Fame

Sydney, Jan 19: Former Australia batsman Mark Waugh and former Australia women's captain Belinda Clark will be inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame (ACHoF) at the 2014 Allan Border Medal in Sydney tomorrow night.

ACHoF chairman David Crow today announced that Waugh and Clark were the selection committee's choice for induction this year.

"This is a special year as we induct our first female, Belinda Clark, into the Hall of Fame," Mr Crow said.

"Women's cricket continues to emerge as a very important part of Australian cricket and the time is right for us to recognise the wonderful feats of some of our women on the international stage. Belinda's performances have been outstanding and she is clearly the most dominant Australian women's cricketer of the modern era."

Mark Waugh now joins his brother Steve in the Hall of Fame, making them the second set of brothers to do so, behind Ian and Greg Chappell.

"Mark Waugh's career provided us with many brilliant moments, which millions of spectators have had the honour to witness," said Mr Crow. "Whether batting, bowling or fielding, playing Tests or ODIs, he was a joy to watch."

Two of the finest players of their generation, Waugh and Clark share a special milestone, playing their first Tests and scoring centuries on debut a day apart in January 1991- Waugh making 138 against England at Adelaide Oval on 25 January in 1991 and Clark 104 the following day against India at North Sydney.

For more than a decade the pair then set about helping the Australian men's and women's teams develop into two of the dominant sporting teams of the era.

An outstanding batsmen and brilliant fieldsman, Waugh becomes the 38th man inducted into the Hall of Fame. In a 12-year international career, he played a significant role in Australia's rise to the top of world cricket, including the 1999 ICC Cricket World Cup and a run of 16 successive Test victories between October 1999 and February 2001.

Waugh is one of six Australian men to score more than 8000 Test runs while his 20 Test centuries is the 11th highest by an Australian. He and brother Steve are the only siblings to have represented Australia in 100 Test matches.

In ODIs he formed a lethal opening partnership with Adam Gilchrist and in 96 matches opening the innings together, the pair scored 3959 runs with eight century partnerships and a high of 206 against the West Indies at the Gabba in January 2001. Waugh's 18 ODI centuries are second highest for an Australian and ninth all-time.

Belinda Clark is the first woman inducted into the ACHoF after a peerless international career. For 14 years she dominated women's cricket and led Australia to an era of dominance including the 1997 and 2005 ICC Women's World Cups.

A prolific run scorer at the top of the order, her individual performances stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the very best in world cricket, highlighted by an unbeaten 229 against Denmark in the 1997 World Cup. It's a performance that ranks as the highest individual score in a one-day international by a man or woman.

Clark's 4844 ODI runs are the most by an Australian woman and second of all-time, while she's one of only four women in world cricket to have averaged more than 45 with the bat in both Tests and ODIs.

The ACHoF was first proposed by the Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC) in 1995 and officially opened in 1996. It is now located inside the National Sports Museum at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.


Write Comments