Karnataka Premier League (KPL) to return in September this year

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, January 20, 2014, 17:16 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

KPL returns in September this year

Bangalore, Jan 20: There is good news for Twenty20 fans in Karnataka. The Karnataka Premier League (KPL) will return this year in September after being a non-starter in the last three years.

KPL T20 franchise-based league was launched in 2009. After the second edition in 2010, it hit a roadblock due to various reasons under the new regime of Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) when former India cricketers Anil Kumble and Javagal Srinath took charge.

Now with Brijesh Patel back in office, as they promised before the elections, are set to re-launch the T20 league. In the last month's elections, Brijesh Patel-Late Srikantadatta Wodeyar group swept into office. Patel is back as secretary of KSCA.

When ThatsCricket contacted KSCA's official spokesperson Vinay Mruthyunjaya on Monday, he confirmed that KPL will be re-launched in September.

"We will hold KPL in September this year," he said. "We will confirm the dates at a later stage," he added.

KPL began with 8 franchises spread across Karnataka. Bangalore Provident (Rural) won the inaugural edition in 2009 while Mangalore United took the trophy in 2010.


Story first published:  Monday, January 20, 2014, 17:12 [IST]
Write Comments