Mitchell Johnson wins 2014 Allan Border Medal

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, January 20, 2014, 17:44 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney, Jan 20: Left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Johnson on Monday won the Allan Border Medal for the year 2014.

Johnson, who was the Man-of-the-series in Australia's 5-0 Ashes drubbing of England recently, beat his captain Michael Clarke to the Australian player of the year award.

Mitchell Johnson wins Allan Border Medal

The left-arm quick received 168 votes against Clarke's 156. James Faulkner was third with 121 votes followed by Shane Watson with 119.

Clarke won the Test Player of the Year honour while Aaron Finch picked up the T20 International Player of the Year award.

George Bailey, who was today dropped from the Test squad, was chosen for ODI Player of the Year award.

The award winners

Allan Border Medal - Mitchell Johnson

Belinda Clark Award - Meg Lanning

Test Player of the Year - Michael Clarke

One-Day International Player of the Year - George Bailey

T20 International Player of the Year - Aaron Finch

Domestic Player of the Year - Cameron White (Victoria/Melbourne Stars)

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year - Jordan Silk (Tasmania/Sydney Sixers)

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame - Belinda Clark, Mark Waugh


Story first published:  Monday, January 20, 2014, 15:48 [IST]
Write Comments