Satish and Rahul put Karnataka in command

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, January 30, 2014, 17:13 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad, Jan 30: Ganesh Satish's unbeaten sixth first-class century and KL Rahul's 94 not out put Karnataka in command against Maharashtra on the second day of the Ranji Trophy final here Thursday.

It was complete domination by Karnataka at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on the second day of the five-day contest. At stumps, Karnataka were 230/0 in 68 overs, 75 behind, in the first innings.

Satish, Rahul put Karnataka in control

Satish was 117 not out (207 balls, 16x4) and Rahul undefeated on 94 (189 balls, 9x4, 1x6). The duo has taken the game away from Maharashtra with a 216-run partnership after they came together following Robin Uthappa's elbow injury.

Maharashtra have themselves to blame. They dropped catches off both batsmen. Taking advantage of those chances, Satish and Rahul made merry.

Tea Report

By the tea interval, Karnataka were comfortably placed at 126/0 in 40 overs with unbeaten half centuries from Ganesh Satish (61) and KL Rahul (53).

Satish and Rahul batted sensibly to put their team ahead. They now trail by 179 runs. In this session, Karnataka scored 83/0 in 26 overs as Maharashtra bowlers were made to work hard.

Lunch Report

Karnataka bowlers were superb on the second morning as they bowled Maharashtra out for 305. At lunch, Karnataka were 43/0 in 14 overs.

Resuming at their overnight score of 272/5, Maharashtra lost five wickets for just 33 runs in 14.1 overs. Karnataka opener Uthappa took a blow on his right elbow and had to retire hurt on 10. Rahul (18) and Satish (14) are the not out batsmen at lunch on second day.

The pace trio of R Vinay Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun and S Aravind took three wickets apiece in the innings. The other success went to Karun Nair.

Ankit Bawne, who was on 89 at stumps on first day, could not add to that score and was the first to go this morning. He was bowled by Mithun.

Shrikant Mundhe fell to a stunning catch by Manish Pandey at first slip off Aravind. Sangram Atitkar completed his half century but was caught behind the stumps by wicketkeeper CM Gautam for exactly 50. Atitkar was 29 not out yesterday.

Karnataka captain Vinay got the last two wickets - Anupam Sanklecha LBW and Akshay Darekar caught by Aravind.

The second new ball which was six overs old at the start of play, did most of the damage.

Brief Scores

Maharashtra 305 all out in 104.1 overs (Overnight 272/5 in 90 overs) (Kedar Jadhav 33, Chirag Khurana 64, Ankit Bawne 89, Sangram Atitkar 50, Harshad Khadiwale 15, R Vinay Kumar 3/81, Abhimanyu Mithun 3/49, S Aravind 3/65, Karun Nair 1/21) Vs Karnataka 230/0 in 68 overs (Ganesh Satish 117 batting, KL Rahul 94 batting)


Story first published:  Thursday, January 30, 2014, 10:58 [IST]
Write Comments