Karnataka captain Vinay joins greats Kumble, Dravid, Prasanna

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, February 4, 2014, 11:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad, Feb 2: R Vinay Kumar on Sunday became the sixth Karnataka captain to win the Ranji Trophy. On the fifth and final day of the Ranji Trophy final today at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Karnataka defeated Maharashtra by seven wickets to clinch the India's premier domestic title.

Final report

This was Karnataka's seventh Ranji Trophy honour. Vinay joined an elite club of Karnataka skippers with Ranji Trophy titles. EAS Prasanna was the first captain to lead the team to the trophy in 1973-74.

Vinay joins greats Kumble, Dravid

Prasanna again was the leader of the side when they claimed the trophy in 1977-78 season. The other winning Karnataka captains are Brijesh Patel, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid and Sunil Joshi.

This was Karnataka's first title since 1998-99. Back then, current coaches J Arun Kumar and Mansur Ali Khan were part of the team.

Karnataka Ranji Trophy Titles

(Read as season, opponent in final, captain, result)

1973-74 - Vs Rajasthan, EAS Prasanna (Won by 185 runs)

1977-78 - Vs Uttar Pradesh, Prasanna (Won by innings and 193 runs)

1982-83 - Vs Bombay, Brijesh Patel (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1995-96 - Vs Tamil Nadu, Anil Kumble (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1997-98 - Vs Uttar Pradesh, Rahul Dravid (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1998-99 - Vs Madhya Pradesh, Sunil Joshi (Won by 96 runs)

2013-14 - Vs Maharashtra, R Vinay Kumar (Won by 7 wickets)


Story first published:  Sunday, February 2, 2014, 16:06 [IST]
Write Comments